What’s Most Important to You?

When I start my day I tend to do one small thing and then another small thing which leads to one more. I look at the clock and it may be an hour or two later. Even though I use a planner, sometimes these small important or sometimes not so important things became a main springboard into my day.

Two days in a row, our loud doorbell rang and I jumped. I looked around the house to see what it looked like. I am not a visual person unless the doorbell rings and then my eyes become lasers. Thankfully I didn’t have to cringe with embarrassment, but whenever you choose one thing, another will suffer. When I spoke one on one with prolific author, Cec Murphey, at Montrose Christian Writers Conference, he asked me, “What are you willing to give up in order to spend more time writing?”

Image result for writers editing imagehttp://www.pinterest.com/pin/184999497167125908/

Cec wrote twelve hours a day, he told the class I attended. That’s not even possible in my life since I’m the main cook, cleaner, and host more than one Bible study. I like spending time with people. At last year’s conference, one instructor asked how many of us were extroverts. I was the only person in the room with my hand up.

In the early 1990’s, I went to my first writers conference in Rochester, NY with Marlene Bagnull as the presenter. She , too, mentioned being an extrovert. So, I guess there are some out there. It was hard on her not seeing people when she was immersed in her work, she told us.

I love being outdoors and NYS is having a very unusual winter with lots of warm days. I’m mostly inside or running from the car to another place inside and barely noticing. So, one thing else I’ve given up is being aware of the great outdoors and taking advantage of this warm spell. We had a warm winter about four years ago, people prayed for no snow. I laughed at them. I shouldn’t have. The NYS apple crop suffered terribly. I’m praying the weather will right itself. I really like apples. I’m sure our local farmers like a great harvest.

Sometimes I wonder if God allows aberrations in weather so people will look up. I don’t see my housework results as well until the doorbell rings. Maybe others don’t think of God unless He gets their attention through the balmy winter in the Northeast United States. A relative told me once that she tended to ignore God unless she was in a crisis. I told her that’s a hard way to live. She’d be better off paying attention to God regularly so He didn’t have to wake her up.  

How do you start your day? Do you putter like I do until your schedule or the time grabs your attention? Or are you on automatic pilot with wonderful ingrained habits? I love how unique everyone is.

Leave a Reply

