Don’t Look Back

Isaiah 43:18,19 says “Remember ye not the former things, neither consider the things of old. Behold, I will do a new thing; now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it? I will even make a way in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert.”

I have that quote on my cork board over my computer because it is a promise from God. I am not stuck in the past, God is doing a new thing in me. That includes my writing, my coping, my knowledge of Him, my habits that need changing, my mind-set when it is going in the wrong direction. People don’t want you to change sometimes and they’ll make comments. “Why are you doing that? You’ve never done that before.” Or, “You’ll never be able to do that.”

I’ve even had Christians tell me I wouldn’t change and I have to tell you, I was dumbfounded. If God can speak the world into being, why if I ask Him to change me in a way that is pleasing to Him, (I have Scripture to back me up on this,) would He not help me to change? He loves change.

God’s Word talks about us singing a new song. His Word says He will make a new creation out of us: 2 Corinthians 5:17: Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

Scripture also talks about as new creatures in Christ, we have the mind of Christ.                   1 Corinthians 2:16 says, “For who has understood the mind of the Lord so as to instruct him? But we have the mind of Christ.”

I’m not saying I understand all of this. I’m aware of what the Word of God tells people and I’ve seen so many things in the Bible work out, that I figure I’ll understand more as the comprehension sinks in. When I don’t understand, I ask God and usually I’ll hear the answer from someone and it makes sense.

I know if I leave the past behind and concentrate on the now and plan for the future without going overboard, my life flows without a lot of undercurrents trying to pull me under the waves, floundering and panicking and gasping for breath.

Leave a Reply

