Milk or Meat?

2 Corinthians 5 is a chapter in the New Testament filled with words that Paul called meat instead of the milk of the Word, in my opinion.

In 1 Corinthians 3: 2 (RV), it says, “I fed you with milk, not with meat; for ye were not yet able to bear it: nay, not even now are ye able;”

He said to get beyond the milk of babes: salvation and the basics of the faith, and grow up.

In the English Standard Version it states in Heb 5:11 About this we have much to say, and it is hard to explain, since you have become dull of hearing.
Heb 5:12 For though by this time you ought to be teachers, you need someone to teach you again the basic principles of the oracles of God. You need milk, not solid food,
Heb 5:13 for everyone who lives on milk is unskilled in the word of righteousness, since he is a child.
Heb 5:14 But solid food is for the mature, for those who have their powers of discernment trained by constant practice to distinguish good from evil.

Heb 6:1 Therefore let us leave the elementary doctrine of Christ and go on to maturity, not laying again a foundation of repentance from dead works and of faith toward God,
Heb 6:2 and of instruction about washings, the laying on of hands, the resurrection of the dead, and eternal judgment.

Years ago, when I read this passage, I thought the things Paul calls the elementary doctrine of Christ are a lot to chew on. But consider this: 2 Corinthians 5:7 (ESV) “for we walk by faith, not by sight.”

I try to wrap my mind around this. On the surface it’s easy. But living it out, being led by the Spirit of God, obedience, dying to self, picking up my cross daily, faith covers a lot! If you don’t believe, you can’t do those things or you won’t want to do those things.

Faith in God, not my ability to produce enough faith to get God moving the way I want Him to move. See what I mean? Believing He’s always with me, that He’s good and wants what’s best for me. Knowing God, Whom I cannot see with my physical eyes. Faith.

If you haven’t read 2 Corinthians 5 in a while and would like to ruminate on it, let me know if it satisfied you or mystified you, or a little bit of both. I had to look up ruminate. LOL Sometimes I use words and then wonder if they mean what I think they mean.

Ruminate according to Merriam-Webster Dictionary is to chew on something, chew the cud, go over it in your mind over and over again, meditate on the meaning, etc. (and not necessarily in that order). And hopefully from the bookcase to the computer I remembered all of them correctly. LOL Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

