Music Impacts

When I was a young mom, I needed to drop something off at a friend’s house. When she opened the door, I handed in the package and left. I’d warned her I couldn’t linger. Later on I spoke to another young mom, she had a couple of teen age boys. I mentioned that when my friend opened her door, Christian music played in the background. It filled my heart and lifted my spirits – that short bit of lyrics and chords. She said, “And they say that they don’t listen to the words in music, and even if they do, those words don’t impact them. Huh!”

“Who’s that?”

“My kids.”

That made us think.

On Thursday night, a few of us continued watching Thelma Wells video presentation about not giving in… God wants us to win! She said if you read Zephaniah 3:17 in The Living Bible, it talks about how God’s joy increases when we worship Him. He rejoices over us.

Zeph. 3:17,18 (TLB) says, “For the Lord your God has arrived to live among you. He is a mighty Savior. He will give you victory. He will rejoice over you in great gladness; he will love you and not accuse you.” Is that a joyous choir I hear? No, it is the Lord himself exulting over you in happy song: “I have gathered your wounded and taken away your reproach…”

I’ve lost track of the mom with the teenage boys, but I look forward to seeing her for all eternity. Those teenage boys may have children of their own approaching their teen years or already there. Wow! And another bigger wow, our God rejoices over us. To me, that’s incredible. Mind boggling.

Leave a Reply

