Writing for God

I was looking back through my planner for 2015 and I ran across what I thought were some words from the Lord. He speaks in a still small voice, so I try hard to sit quietly once in a while and listen closely.

I am the type of person that moves around and gets ideas and pops up just to do one more thing.

I wrote a devotional last year and in July of 2015 an editor told me to flesh it out and she’d be glad to publish it if it retained it’s style. So I got online and found the guidelines to copy and read a few samples of other writings. I re-wrote my article to her specifications and let it rest for a while. Then I fished it out of the file cabinet and looked at the guidelines again. It was at least fifty words short. I refiled it to get to later and neglected to mark it in my planner. Not good.

In October, I thought I heard the Lord saying get the devotional out of the drawer and send it out. I’m paraphrasing.

Something came up and I thought I’d return to it later. Then in November I went through October’s entries to jot down an index of events and there was the word from the Lord. By then, I’m thinking of Thanksgiving and preparations. Also, my daughter decided on an early wedding and that took lots of concentration.

I went through my 2015 planner for information I need now, and there was the entry. Oh, man!

Jesus talks about being obedient in the little things before we’ll be given the privilege of bigger opportunities in a parable. In Matthew 25:21 (KJV), Jesus told his disciples about a business man that left others in charge of his vineyard. “His lord said to him, Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful over a few things; I will make you ruler over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord.”

With that in mind, I’m going to mark my planner before going to bed tonight. I like that article and to have an editor like it too, well that was nice to hear. I wrote about my oldest daughter and her pair of gloves from when she was a little girl. Good memories.

As I searched for the previous verse, I came across these verses. It always amazes me how straight forward Jesus was. He spoke with authority and that is why the crowds marveled because they could see he wasn’t a highly educated man. He was a carpenter like his stepdad. Anyhow, here’s verses from the book of Luke in the King James Version that show Jesus’ thinking:

Luk 6:45 A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth the good. And an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart brings forth the evil. For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.
Luk 6:46 And why do you call Me Lord, Lord, and do not do what I say?
Luk 6:47 Whoever comes to Me and hears My Words, and does them, I will show you to whom he is like.
Luk 6:48 He is like a man who built a house and dug deep and laid the foundation on a rock; and a flood occurring, the stream burst against that house and could not shake it; for it was founded on a rock.
Luk 6:49 But he who hears and does not perform, is like a man who built a house on the earth without a foundation, on which the stream burst, and immediately it fell. And the ruin of that house was great.

I heard Dr. James Mac Donald say something similar to what my husband says. We serve a powerful God and we need to repent of our sins, often. He’s more than a God Whom loves us and wants the best for us. He is a judge and He’s holy. My husband says to keep short accounts with God.

I love Scripture even though sometimes I see how much I need a Savior, a Redeemer.

So I will write a note in my planner, again, “send out the manuscript!” I’ll give it a high priority and I’ll ask God to help me send it before next week, in case it needs to rest for a few days. I know it’s not finished yet. I’m not finished yet, and God is patiently working on my character. He is faithful and I want to be, too.

3 responses

  1. ”He speaks in a still small voice, so I try hard to sit quietly once in a while and listen closely”.

    I believe you hit the nail on the head, so to speak, with the above sentence.

    This world has so much noise in it and everyone has to be Sooo! busy to be classed as successful (by other people) in the life they have been given.

    We are continually bombarded with distractions, tv, radio, internet etc. – and perhaps the worst offender – cellphones. Why do people feel the need to be in perpetual contact with others?

    To sit quietly and contemplate is almost looked upon as a slothful and time wasting exercise by many. In my view the Adversary has many tricks up his sleeve and no end of distractive pursuits that appear attractive to the human spirit.

    I do not mean to say that the above named distractions should not be used – but not at the expense of regular periods of quiet, peaceful contact with our Creator. That is often when real and meaningful insights can be achieved that assist us in our worldy and spiritual endeavours.

Leave a Reply

