Young Adult Books

My son gave me a copy of his book, Divergent, by Veronica Roth, copyrighted in 2011, and published by Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of Harper Collins Books, New York, NY to read. It’s a young adult novel.

It got placed in his empty dresser drawer, and when he visited last he let me know where to find it.

I told my husband when I read it that it was a bit violent for me, and he wondered why I read it. It grabbed my interest but rarely mentioned God. The characters and situations compelled me to keep reading, although I was able to put it down and read it over a two or three day time span.

As I related portions of the book to the ladies in my Bible study it occurred to me that the book raised some excellent questions that I pondered throughout the volume. Then today I picked up a book on hold for me written by Richard Peck, entitled Past Perfect, Present Tense: New and Collected Stories. It was published by Dial Books, New York, NY and copyrighted in 2004. On page 2 he writes, “Again, like all fiction, a short story is never an answer, always a question….Fiction writers have only questions, and the eternal question all fiction asks the reader is: WHAT IF I WERE THE CHARACTER IN THIS STORY? WHAT WOULD I DO?”

Isn’t that an amazing correlation between his comments and my thoughts about her book?

In his first story, the ending is abrupt and startling. He wrote it with a thirty-six hour deadline and at the request of an editor. He’d never considered writing a short story before. I guess it’s good to stretch our horizons, especially as writers.

Well, I’m on a mission to fulfill a shorter blog time, as suggested by author coach Suzy Q, (Suzanne Kuhn) a couple of years ago at Montrose Christian Writers Conference. Lately, I’ve been spending hours. They end up being too long.

Happy writing if you’re a writer.

Leave a Reply

