“You Said What?!!”

I’m sticking my head past the refrigerator door to peer inside for some kind of food, talking to hear myself talk, I guess, and out of my mouth, I hear myself say, “…God, Baby.”

I froze. Did I just call the God of the Universe, the Great I Am, the Judge, “Baby”?

I immediately asked God’s forgiveness. I told Him I’m His baby, but Never did I want to show such familiarity with God that I would call Him “Baby”.

My mind started going to the fact that I’ll always be His baby. Then I pictured a mom bending over a new child wrapped in a snug receiving blanket, smiling and trying to coax a smile out of the infant, and cooing. In my kitchen I felt love pour over me like a warm waterfall.

I knew what it was to be that tender child, encompassed by a love so deep, so full of intentions for my well-being that I could have stayed in that moment forever.

Zep 3:17 (KJV): The LORD thy God in the midst of thee is mighty; he will save, he will rejoice over thee with joy; he will rest in his love, he will joy over thee with singing.

I keep running into this verse from people. If I’ve brought it up before, I don’t mind repeating it. It’s hard for me to fathom the depth of God’s love for me and for others. Once in a while He shows me a bit.

As an aside, in case you are a regular follower of this blog, you may have noticed that I’ve been away from the keyboard. For about three days, I slept most of the time, trying to get well. For the first time in years I battled the flu, the one with days of fever and then coughing and sore throat and a headache big time. I didn’t even read a book for days, other than some of the Bible.

A day or so ago my husband told me, “You’re feeling better.”

“Why?”

“Because you’re talking again.”

I didn’t realize I hadn’t been. Rare in our forty-three years of knowing each other.

My fever left today, so I’ll stay away from people for another day or two.

And I’ve asked God to please guard my lips. I don’t like to say things that I shouldn’t. I don’t like to think things that I shouldn’t. I mostly like this planet earth, but I won’t say nay to heaven and no more sin up there! Yay!

I hope you’re healthy in every way possible. God bless!

Leave a Reply

