Math and Writing and Weather

 

My husband the part-time math teacher is watching Algebra videos so he can learn the new arithmetic before he teaches it to his class. So, I’m learning if you have license plates with three letters and then four numbers the equation is 26 to the third power times 10 to the fourth power together – twenty six for the letters in the alphabet, ten for the digits 0-9.

So, 26 x 26 x 26 x 10 x 10 x 10 x 10 to get the possible number of varieties of license plate numbers which was supposed to come to over one hundred seventy-five million plates. Yowza. One hundred seventy five million seven hundred sixty thousand plates, to be exact.

I like learning math now that I’m not being tested for a grade.

I went to the library for a chance to write and to pick up a few library books I had on hold. I stayed a while because our furnace stopped working this first day of Spring with more snow than we’ve had most of the winter, although it didn’t stick. My husband called a furnace technician, so he worked on the furnace while I worked on typing the revision to my novel.

A couple of weeks ago we had no snow with temps around zero degrees F, so I wasn’t complaining about the temperature hitting 30 degrees. It was even supposed to go up some. I wrote and paid a bill and talked to a friend and read my Bible and then called my husband who said it was done. I went home to do more housework.

I’m playing catch up after being sick and I’m still tiring easily. My oldest daughter told me not to overdo it and then relapse in my recovery. I smiled.  “You know better than that,” I told her.

Although when I was young, I often pushed myself to exhaustion. So, I’m blogging after having just changed the linens. I washed linens and disinfected one spot of the house today. This morning, I swept and threw things away after starting the laundry. I washed dishes and did the library stuff. Now, I am exhausted, except blogging is easy on my health.

Last time, I think I mentioned I was reading a writing book by Sol Stein entitled, How to Grow a Novel: The Most Common Mistakes Writers Make and How to Overcome Them, Copyright 1999, published by St. Martin’s Press, New York, NY. I notice when things are outdated and then just ignore those points. I figure some writing tips are universal and there’s a lot of wisdom in this book.

His exercise that made me laugh when I tried it was to pick one body part of mine and write about it as Elia Kazan did for his autobiography. Kazan chose his face. I chose my baby toe. Who knows, maybe a character will use it one day, as Stein suggests or it may end up in my autobiography, if I ever get brave enough to write it.

I like writing books that suggest the perspective author stop a bit and write. That’s the point, isn’t it, to improve the craft?

Well, if you’re a writer and you’re stretching your brain with something that’s not language related, maybe that’s not such a bad thing. I used to believe I’d never be able to learn math. That was a lie. As I conquered some math, it increased my confidence. Not a bad thing. I don’t spend much time on math.

I spend most of my learning time on the craft of writing and on discovering more about God and His interests. After all, those are things I’m passionate about.

One response

Leave a Reply

