Beatitudes for Today?

Matthew 5:5 (KJV) Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth. Mat 5:6  Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.
Mat 5:7 Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.
Mat 5:8 Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.
Mat 5:9 Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.

I’m so torn over what I want to write about. My husband starts his sermons with Scripture because he tells us that if we fall asleep, we heard the best part. So, since I really wanted to continue with the Beatitudes, I’ll start here.

If I have time I’ll mention book three in the Heirs of Acadia series by T. Davis and Isabella Bunn which I’m a quarter of the way through. The characters are living in times of turmoil and spiritual persecution. Does that sound familiar?

In Matthew 5:5, Jesus, God Who became man, Who spoke what the Father told Him to say, (John 17:8) said that we are blessed when we are meek. Meek does not mean weak. Meek means humble. Jesus Himself was very humble.

Php 2:5 (KJV) tells us to “Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus:
Php 2:6 Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God:
Php 2:7 But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men:
Php 2:8 And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross.”

Jesus amazes me.

Then there is Moses.

Moses humility is apparent in these verses:

Exodus 6:29 (KJV): That the LORD spake unto Moses, saying, I am the LORD: speak thou unto Pharaoh king of Egypt all that I say unto thee.
Exo 6:30 And Moses said before the LORD, Behold, I am of uncircumcised lips, and how shall Pharaoh hearken unto me?

Jesus and Moses led men and women because of the will of God. Both men were self-sacrificing and they both sought God for wisdom.

Can we do any less?

My prayers go out to those in Brussels and to the families of all involved in today’s terrorist attack.

How I need to be humble and seek God with all that I’ve got within me. He wants better for humanity which was made in His image. “Lord, help us!”

Leave a Reply

