Beatitudes Continued

Mat 5:6 Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

Mat 5:7 Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.

Mat 5:8 Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.

I love how Jesus spoke in the Beatitudes. We are blessed when we hunger and thirst after righteousness. I don’t know about you, but sometimes I get less hungry and less thirsty for God and then I wonder: “What am I filling up with that has nothing to do with God?” Sometimes the flesh rises up and gets in the way of the Spirit. Or the enemy causes distractions and confusion.

We have to be on our guard. 1Peter_5:8 (KJV) Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour:

The idea of wanting to be righteous or in right standing with God goes against my selfish grain in the first place. I feel like I can’t do a thing without God, even be interested in Him, unless I ask for His help. I know that’s Scriptural, but sometimes it doesn’t hit me unless I really think about it.

Paul tells the Greeks in the book of Acts: Act 17:24 (TLV) The God who made the world and all things in it, since He is Lord of heaven and earth, does not live in temples made by hands.
Act 17:25 Nor is He served by human hands, as if He needed anything, since He Himself gives to everyone life and breath and all things.
Act 17:26 From one He made every nation of men to live on the face of the earth, having set appointed times and the boundaries of their territory.
Act 17:27 They were to search for Him, and perhaps grope around for Him and find Him. Yet He is not far from each one of us,
Act 17:28 for ‘In Him we live and move and have our being.’ As some of your own poets have said, ‘For we also are His offspring.’
Act 17:29 Since we are His offspring, we ought not to suppose the Deity is like gold or silver or stone, an engraved image of human art and imagination.
Act 17:30 Although God overlooked the periods of ignorance, now He commands everyone everywhere to repent.
Act 17:31 For He has set a day on which He will judge the world in righteousness, through a Man whom He has appointed. He has brought forth evidence of this to all men, by raising Him from the dead.”

Such heavy stuff in the Word of God. I ask God to teach me from His Word because there is so much to it! These last verses remind me of Jesus’ crucifixion and Him being raised from the dead, which we’ll celebrate in America on Sunday in many churches.

I don ‘t seem to get very far with  the Beatitudes. Just one at a time in these blogs.

The verse saying to “Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness and all these things will be added unto us,” is in Matt. 6:33. That refers to physical necessities.

That corresponds with Jesus saying we’ll be filled if we hunger and thirst after righteousness in Matt. 5:6. Although I’ve always thought here it means we’ll be filled with His Spirit so we don’t feel empty inside.

Of course, God cares about the whole person, not just fragmented parts. Be blessed as you seek God and His righteousness. If you’re not sure what hungering and thirsting for righteousness actually means, ask God to show you. He waits to interact with us, according to Revelation 3:20.

Rev 3:20 (TLV) :Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears My voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and will dine with him, and he with Me.

Be Blessed!

 

 

Leave a Reply

