Blessed Are the Merciful

Mat 5:7 (TLV) “Blessed are the merciful, for they shall be shown mercy.”

 

Jesus speaks of mercy, a subject He and the Father know well.

After I pondered this verse, then I read Mary’s praise of God in Luke chapter one to her cousin, Elizabeth in the King James Version of the Bible:

Luk 1:46  And Mary said, My soul doth magnify the Lord,

Luk 1:47  And my spirit hath rejoiced in God my Saviour.

Luk 1:48  For he hath regarded the low estate of his handmaiden: for, behold, from henceforth all generations shall call me blessed.

Luk 1:49  For he that is mighty hath done to me great things; and holy is his name.

Luk 1:50  And his mercy is on them that fear him from generation to generation.

Luk 1:51  He hath shewed strength with his arm; he hath scattered the proud in the imagination of their hearts.

Luk 1:52  He hath put down the mighty from their seats, and exalted them of low degree.

Luk 1:53  He hath filled the hungry with good things; and the rich he hath sent empty away.

Luk 1:54  He hath holpen his servant Israel, in remembrance of his mercy;

Luk 1:55  As he spake to our fathers, to Abraham, and to his seed for ever.

Mercy is a pardon when I deserve a punishment. Kind of like grace, I think. Grace is undeserved merit. So, since Jesus is merciful to us, He wants us to be merciful to others. He took on our punishment so we’d be okay in the Father’s eyes. He wants us to be kind and forgive others, merciful.

As we sow, so shall we reap, it says in Galatians.

Gal_6:7 (KJV) says: Be not deceived; God is not mocked: for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.

Gal_6:8  For he that soweth to his flesh shall of the flesh reap corruption; but he that soweth to the Spirit shall of the Spirit reap life everlasting.

Gal_6:9  And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.

It’s not easy to be kind and merciful and forgiving when others are being just the opposite, but if we ask Jesus to help us, we can do it. It makes our world a better place, and others may come to Christ if they see us obeying God’s commandments. I know I’ll never be perfect this side of heaven, but when I seek to obey Jesus, He gives me joy.

I remember being really mad at my children and deciding I would not punish at the moment so the punishment was not overly harsh. When it came time to punish, I’d be apt to take them on my lap and explain why I was so mad. Then when I felt they understood, I’d say, “Don’t do that again!”

It took me a while to learn how to discipline. I learned a lot over the years and wish I’d learned sooner rather than later. Thank God that He is all knowing and there is no learning curve with God’s parenting skills. There’s a song out that says, “He’s a good, good Father…It’s Who You are…And I’m loved by You, it’s who I am, it’s who I am…”

I love that song, sung by Chris Tomlin. I’ve also heard it sung by Casting Crowns, excellent as well.

Our merciful, loving God, perfect, absolutely perfect!

Leave a Reply

