Doing My Work Heartily

Sometimes when I read Colossians 3:23 “And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily as to the LORD and not unto men,” I think, what is my work for this time and place in the world?

Is it more important to read the Bible and pray and talk to people about Jesus? Is it more important to write about God, hoping some may think of Him if they’re not apt to? Is it more important to wash dishes as I’m preparing a meal? Is it more important to take time to make applesauce with children even though it’s holding up time for all the dishes of our feast to finish and stay warm, this afternoon?

Yes, we finally had our Resurrection Sunday meal on the Saturday after the date.

What about vacuuming and disinfecting? What about some social contact when you’re mostly alone? What about throwing papers away? What about writing to our states and asking them what is most important: the NFL or other sports owners; Hollywood producers and a conglomeration of corporate owners as mentioned in an article by The Washington Post at https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2016/03/19/nfl-suggests-religious-liberty-bill-could-affect-georgias-super-bowl-bid ; or passing laws that protect freedom of religion in America or no transgenders in bathrooms, especially in America where there are single rooms for family bathroom needs? A transgender can use a family bathroom and no one will object.

What is my work at such a time as this? What is your work at such a time as this?

Even if work is distasteful sometimes, if it is done for God, really done for God, it can take the sting out of an unpleasant situation. I know, I’ve done so. I need to read my Bible, I need to pray, I need to listen. What is Your priority for me at this moment, my God and my Savior? Be blessed, readers and ponderers.

 

Leave a Reply

