So Much!

Some days I’m not sure what to write about, others there’s so much to choose from it’s hard to know what to mention and what to let go of. That is an art in writing. I recently read that when you write everything out for the reader and don’t leave room for them to “get it,” or imagine their own scenario, that’s “writing on the nose.”

Jerry Jenkins mentioned that and I apologize if this is the second time I brought this up. When I read that piece of advice, “Don’t write on the nose,” I pondered, Do I do that?

In non-fiction, the reader needs to be able to follow where you’re going, but even there, “on the nose” writing may insult their intelligence or bore them.  So, as I’m  writing daily, I’m working on not writing “on the nose.”

On the novel, I’m trying to put my heroine in danger that changes her life. I keep niggling on the idea of writing from the brother’s point of view and he’s the antagonist. I just don’t want to do it, but today it almost seemed like he was in my head showing me just what he felt about the situation.

I have Scriptures posted near the computer for motivation. Proverbs 22: 29 (NKJV) says, “Do you see a man who excels in his work? He will stand before kings; He will not stand before unknown men.”

Not that I want to stand before kings, it reminds me not to settle for mediocrity.

A verse I read unintentionally the other day said, “For even when we were with you, this we commanded you, that if any would not work, neither should he eat.”

That was from the Apostle Paul in  2 Thess. 3:10 in the (KJV).

That’s motivated me around the house and with my writing as well. I’ll take all the encouragement I can get. LOL

I thought I’d write more on my novel earlier in the day, but my list of to-do’s got in the way. I’m cleaning a room that got neglected and today I used the paper shredder to get rid of excess copies of treasurer and secretary reports from a non-profit organization I volunteered at for at least four years in this town. The shredder stops when it gets too warm, I think. I almost bought another one tonight because I thought I broke it. A friend suggested I pray over it, and I did. Then it worked. It may have a short in the wire; I’ll ask my husband to look at it.

Anyway, I’ll have to blog about the other stuff I was thinking of on another day. Too many words can be like too much food. What was enjoyable turns into discomfort and stimulates a lack of appetite, in my opinion. Hope you have a good day!

Leave a Reply

