Read the Word?

I still read a Proverb a day, most days. Lately, I’ve been reading from bits here and there as well. Lamentations 3: 22,23 tells me that God’s mercies are new every morning and that God is faithful to those who love Him.

I felt as if God led me to Isaiah 63:13 this morning. It refers to the Israeli people with Moses in the wilderness. I wrote it down from the (NASB): “Who led them through the depths? Like the horse in the wilderness, they did not stumble.”

I believe God impressed those verses on my heart so I could see that He is faithful and He will keep me from stumbling in the wilderness. It did occur to me that in order not to stumble in the wilderness, that means I will be in the wilderness. Now whether that means bad times are coming for me; or I’ll be in a dry place spiritually speaking and feeling as if God has disappeared from my life, so I’ll need to hold on by faith alone, I don’t know.

With a totally optimistic viewpoint, it could be encouragement that I will never falter in my walk with God. Yet, there are the words, “Who led them through the depths?”

I know one thing, God has been kind to me so many times over the years and He  says to look forward and leave the past behind. The Apostle Paul said it this way in Php 3:13 in the (ASV) : “Brethren, I count not myself yet to have laid hold: but one thing I do, forgetting the things which are behind, and stretching forward to the things which are before.
Php 3:14 I press on toward the goal unto the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.”

He also says continually in the Word to not be afraid and to be anxious for nothing. The being anxious for nothing is found in Philippians 4: In the (ASV) it says in Php 4:6, “In nothing be anxious; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.”

I told the church attendees last Sunday night that I prayed for a small item that wore out at the house, it cost less than five dollars and maybe one dollar in a Dollar store here in the States. I just get so busy, I don’t always get to a store. My daughter visited from a distance away and at the house, she said, “Here, Mom would you like this?”

And there was this inexpensive item I’d asked God for. I said, “Sure.”

I don’t even know if I told her, but when someone asked if anyone had a testimony of God’s goodness, I piped up. People laughed at my joy over such a small thing. I was delighted that God answered my prayer. Big or small request, it shows He cares. Often times, when the answer is no, I find out later it would have been bad for me to get a yes.

I think I mentioned a few days ago that I like Isaiah, but I don’t remember ever reading Isaiah 63:18. On occasion, I’ll ask God if He has a verse He wants me to read and I have to be very quiet to get an impression from Him, and still my own thoughts. I should do that more often. Sometimes I don’t hear anything. God speaks when He wants to.

That’s the beauty of God. He does all things well.As Job said in Job 5:8 (ASV): “But as for me, I would seek unto God, And unto God would I commit my cause;
Job 5:9 Who doeth great things and unsearchable, Marvellous things without number:”

Leave a Reply

