Birds Outside My Window

Two years ago, I won a bird feeder from a charity fundraiser. Once I began putting bird seed in it, visits came from feathery friends. I couldn’t get over the joy I experienced watching the variety of birds.

After many months, I didn’t enjoy it quite as much, but I kept providing food as I could. This week, some Common Grackles found the feeder and then I needed to convince myself that since God made all the creatures, He loves the ones that are appealing and the less appealing ones. Common Grackles have a beautiful black body with a sleek bluish-green colored head that shines beautifully in the sun. What I don’t like about them is that they are more greedy than the blue jays even. Their yellow eyes are cold and beady. Little birds wait patiently and then they sneak in for a quick nibble when the Common Grackles take a break.

I found them on the http://www.Cornell.edu bird watching site and then found a picture of them on  http://www.shutterstock.com/pic-38376802/stock-photo-common-grackle-black-bird-with-an-iridescent-blue-neck-and-head.html.

I don’t do pictures anymore because my computer got messed up and I was without it for a time. I miss the pictures, and will use pictures if I know the source without a doubt.

Anyhow, I have a friend who feeds birds as well and she is a pastor. She tells me she gets such spiritual insight from watching the birds. She even draws hummingbirds with sugar water. They didn’t visit my place, so I see them at her home.

I found a couple of verses I like about birds: Luk_12:24 (KJV) Consider the ravens. They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn, yet God feeds them. How much more valuable you are than birds!

1Cor_15:39  (KJV) All flesh is not the same flesh, but there is one flesh of humans, another flesh of animals, another of birds, and another of fish.

James_3:7 (KJV) For every species of beasts and birds, reptiles and sea creatures, is tamed and has been tamed by mankind.

Have you glanced at the skies to see one species of God’s magnificent creation? If you have a window to look out, look up.

Psalm 19:1 (RV) says, “The heavens declare the glory of God; and the firmament sheweth his handywork.”

Birds are a tiny fraction of God’s created warm-blooded vertebrates. He amazes me.

 

One response

Leave a Reply

