Birds

I remember in college a swarm of birds on the grass, outside my dorm.

My roommate, terrified of birds, wanted to help feed them. She gazed out our upstairs window and then implored me to take some crackers to them.

Our generation watched Alfred Hitchcock’s movie, “The Birds,” which scared us – big time. As horrifying as the film was, I convinced myself those birds did not act anything like real ones. So I took the crackers down to the birds.

I don’t remember the birds flying away when I entered the grassy square, although I imagine they would have before I got too close.

She was so happy to give the feathery creatures food. She enjoyed them from a distance. Her fears kept her from having peace in their presence. I know what it is to fear animals. After my daughter got bit by a dog, I battled fear.

I’ve quoted 2 Tim. 1:7 many times over the years and it’s helped:

2Ti 1:7, (KJV) For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.

When you encounter a fear, maybe you’ll be able to speak this verse aloud or in a whisper so you can hear it. It’s amazing how helpful that’s been over the years. It does something inside of me and it does something in the supernatural realm.

Heb 4:12, (KJV) For the word of God is quick, and powerful, and sharper than any twoedged sword, piercing even to the dividing asunder of soul and spirit, and of the joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

This is one of my favorite verses. Have a great day. Mine was so full, I’m typing after midnight. Hopefully I’ll get the next blog out earlier. God bless!

 

Leave a Reply

