Whatcha Doin’?

I was thinking today that I needed to make a list of things to do before company arrives next week or a little beyond that. I made a wonderful list.

Later, I started on A1, my top priority and then the telephone rang. It was my husband asking if I wanted to go to a movie with him. I shared my dilemma. He listened and waited. “I’ll call you right back.”

So, I called him back to say give me an hour or more to get my chores done and we’ll go. We’ve been wanting to see “God’s Not Dead 2”.

When I looked for times and locations online I ran into secular movie reviews, and they weren’t impressed. It’s a bit of a sequel to the first movie, “God’s Not Dead,” but it didn’t matter if a person didn’t see the first one.

I enjoy the humor inserted. As a Christian, I enjoy the questioning of the faith and the culture of living as a Christian and the resolutions that are not all “sugar and spice and everything nice.”

Is it perfectly executed? I don’t know. If I hadn’t read some criticisms I’d have a less biased answer. I liked it though. I’d recommend it. I’d watch it again.

Now that I’m home, I’m going to work on my list for a little bit. Not too long. As I scanned my planner, I have two days that are relatively free of appointments. Good days to clean and do laundry.

Do you start out with a list and then abandon it to steal away with your spouse if you’re married, or go on a date if you’re not?

I have a few friends that forgo excursions if they’re working a list. Yet, they enjoy life. They just schedule the fun times in after their work is done. Even in friendships, opposites attract.

Although, I have a couple of friends that flex easily and we get along well, too, although we’re not always able to be spontaneous together because one or the other of us is off being impulsive somewhere else. I’ve even been known to plan things with these friends.

I also have two friends that I plan things with and I hold those plans very loosely. One I don’t live near anymore. If family called, I learned that our plans went out the window and I would rarely get a call. Why did I stick with her? Because I lived in a neighborhood with mostly working mothers, so I avoided isolationism with her and because I liked her. I just learned to guard my heart.

The other friend tries her best, but when life rises up and demands attention, what are you going to do? She has many responsibilities, so I remain flexible and she is equally flexible if I have to cancel. I intend to be her friend forever.

So, whatcha doin?

Leave a Reply

