Great Expectations Foiled

I usually see some friends at the voting site, every election day. I anticipated the same this last Tuesday, but when I went to a cafe to order a chai tea, the barista and I got talking and I felt like I was missing out on something. Sure enough, later I discovered they were voting when I was not there.

So, knowing we were all set to have breakfast today, I expected to see them and enjoy their senses of humor. This couple comes from Britain and they are both clever with comments that get others laughing.

My husband felt under the weather and so we canceled our breakfast outing. It’s funny how I know that life throws curve-balls, yet I rarely expect them. So I thought of what the book of James has to say:

Jas 4:13 (GNB): Now listen to me, you that say, “Today or tomorrow we will travel to a certain city, where we will stay a year and go into business and make a lot of money.”
Jas 4:14 You don’t even know what your life tomorrow will be! You are like a puff of smoke, which appears for a moment and then disappears.
Jas 4:15 What you should say is this: “If the Lord is willing, we will live and do this or that.”
Jas 4:16 But now you are proud, and you boast; all such boasting is wrong.
Jas 4:17 So then, if we do not do the good we know we should do, we are guilty of sin.

Which got me thinking that tomorrow we’re invited to some friends’ home for a Seder meal and I’m not certain if my husband will be okay or not. He went to the dr.s’ office today and they did a test. We’ll know tomorrow if it’s something needing an antibiotic or not, and he’ll be able to tell if he’s mending rapidly or not.

After reading the passage from James, I’m thinking I’d better get back to my list from yesterday. I’ve done some work around the house, but not the priorities from the list.

I’m rarely bored, even when my great expectations turn into making soup for someone hurting or throwing in a load of laundry. Almost every group outing I usually go to in the course of the year is being put aside this year, it seems. One didn’t spark my interest and when a friend asked why I wasn’t there, I felt bad.

Jesus is working on me, is what I’m thinking. Getting me out of a rut. Broadening horizons sometimes, limiting opportunities other times. Take care!

Leave a Reply

