Writing With A Cause

 

I have some busy days ahead, so if I don’t write every day except for Sunday as I’ve been trying to do, I hope you’ll stay with me. My schedule changes come Thursday.

Spoiler alert: I am going to dissect fiction techniques here and it will ruin your pleasure in fiction reading if you’re not a writer.

I am in the midst of doing some last minute things and I picked up my copy of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, even though I have a copy of Insurgent by Veronica Roth and The Penderwicks in Spring by Jeanne Birdsall awaiting me with a library due date.

I’ve read Pride and Prejudice at least once and seen the movie a handful of times, so it surprised me when I picked it up. As I’m reading it, I’m noticing how often she puts people in a dilemma or adds a new opportunity for her main characters. I’m seeing it with new eyes.

She wrote Pride and Prejudice with an agenda to speak against entailment, which was the practice of leaving an estate to a male heir, even a distant heir if the remaining family members were female. It left widows and their daughters in a precarious state sometimes. In my opinion, I don’t think she was heavy handed in her attempt to dissuade the more affluent classes away from the practice of entailment. I haven’t researched what the readers of her time period thought of her views.

I know Harriet Beecher Stowe wrote Uncle Tom’s Cabin because she and her family were extremely upset by slavery in America. When I read a biography about her, it mentioned that Abraham Lincoln met her. If memory serves, he said something like “So, this is the lady that started the Civil War.”

Her father and mother hosted Frederick Douglas and other abolitionists in their home.

I’ve read many writing books and a sentiment mentioned is that what the writer believes comes out in their writing. I’ve read many Young Adult books and children’s chapter books and often I’ll see a character say something derogatory about believing in God or about a particular religion. Just a sentence or two.

If you are a writer, how do you present your cause without overdoing it? I read a short romance once that was trying to urge readers to send money for a national treasure that was deteriorating. The author brought it up so often, I felt nagged and became annoyed.

Take care and may God bless you.

Leave a Reply

