God is Good

“God is good” are the lyrics to a lively song we used to sing in our church when our pianist, in her seventies at the time, I think, still played the ivory keys.

I know God is good from many experiences of His provision, His still small voice giving me peace in the midst of a stressful situation, from His word doing what it said it would. Speaking 2 Timothy 1:7 out loud when I got hit with fear, the fear lifted, supernaturally. The verse states, For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind. (KJV)

One time as we drove along, I felt completely overwhelmed with worries and sad things recently experienced. As I spoke, my husband said to me, “Connie, have you forgotten? God is good.”

I had been so focused on the negative that I had forgotten that God is good. When we lived on very little in a southern state we’d moved to, far from family, and unfortunately I had put God on a back burner, I called a radio station to try and win a prize of $100.00. Somehow, I just knew I was going to win that money. I did. God knew how we needed it.

I can look back over the years and see God’s hand lovingly shielding me from harm or preventing further harm from coming my way. Hard things I’ve gone through have shaped my character, and even that is God allowing some difficult things to work out for my good, eventually.

Romans 8:28 is one of my favorite verses:  And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose. (KJV)

If the harsh realities of life start to overwhelm, I cry out to God to remind me to look to Him and to look for the good. He came that we could have peace and joy and hope and an abundant life. So many verses promise us good things in this life and the next.

My husband has been saying lately that God is most concerned with our relationship with Him and our relationships with others. To God be the glory.

Be blessed!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

