Is God in Control?

I’ve tried to post two times this week when I was weary and the posts went away into no-man’s land.
I said, “Well, God, maybe you don’t like what I’m talking about here … Nephilim and such.

Then I went to the dr. for a procedure, possibly. I wanted the physician to do his thing, to relieve my discomfort. There was a catch. My body needed to react in a healthy manner. So, there was a test involved.

After an hours drive, pain increasing, I began to wonder if God was going to answer prayer my way or did He have a reason for me to stay under the medical care for a bit longer. I surrendered my dilemma to Him.

I just didn’t want to, or so my husband surmised as we talked about it. It was true, willingness didn’t equal wanting to. I tried not to be grumpy.

After all went my way, I’m singing “How Great is our God, sing with me, how great is our God,” when I get a teensy thought. Would I still be great if it hadn’t gone this way?

That brought a tear to my eye. “Yes, Lord.”

So I’m praying for two people that I love dearly facing major medical surgeries. I’ve asked prayer warriors to pray they won’t have to have surgery. I’ve heard of and seen God answer spectacular prayers, simple asking but miraculous results.

As I contemplated God’s power to answer, I also pondered His right to work in our lives through circumstances that make us squirm.

I have absolute assurance in His character and His ability to respond positively to these personal requests. It’s the not knowing that did me in today.

My husband mentioned to a friend that driving to the dr.s was like being with one wife and returning with a completely different wife.

I didn’t realize each was a stretch for him. It’s too easy to get wrapped up in myself.

So, do I believe God is in control? Yes. Do I wish I prayed more for others? Yes. Do I wonder why He wants us involved in the cosmic decisions of life? Yes, oh yes. But then who am I, one of His many disciples trying to figure out an All-knowing,
All-powerful, Merciful yet Just God, which is why Jesus went to the cross? He took my sins upon Himself. I am weak,dear God!

I asked God for a Scripture and this came to mind: 2 Peter 2:9 (NKJV) : then the Lord knows how to deliver the godly out of temptations and to reserve the unjust under punishment for the day of judgment,

Is God in control? I’m glad it’s Him and not me.

4 responses

  1. My our Lord God Father and Savior bless you with all that you need sister. When I read your posting, it brought to my mind so many many ways our Lord leads us in this journey here on earth. So many infant christians are caught in false teachings about God. Too many often forget that there are valleys and there are times of suffering and times of sacrifice. So many forget to remember what Yeshua-Jesus went through and his disciples while alive. Luke 9:23-24 (23) And he said to them all, if any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me. (24) For whosoever will save his life shall lose it: but whosoever will lose his life for my sake, the same shall save it.
    I think many think too often our Lord is credit god, with all our requests on demand 24/7. They have not learned that when we pray, most important we pray in His will first and foremost. For He tells us in his word, that He knows all that we have need of before we ask, but even then we must keep seeking, knocking and asking without doubt and keeping always that we seek His happiness and His will, first and foremost.
    I have learned that suffering, sacrifice and the hurdles in this life are all part of his way of tending to our spirit in teaching humility, so that we all are not so easily self centered little brats. If Yeshua-Jesus went through all these things here, why do I think I should have a different path of ease and without constraint or some suffering and sacrifice? God uses all these things common to mankind to show His great power, strength, mercy, love and goodness in spite of those things. As He overcame the things of this world, so too He is teaching us to overcome them as well. That difference is what gives life and hope in a very dark and contrary world. Philippians 4:9-13
    9 Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you. 10 But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly, that now at the last your care of me hath flourished again; wherein ye were also careful, but ye lacked opportunity. 11 Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, [therewith] to be content. 12 I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. 13 I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.
    May our Lord God Father and Savior’s peace and joy abound in you and give you to continue to sing praises to His Holy name. Well done sister.

Leave a Reply

