To Eat or Not to Eat?

Of course we have to eat! Lol

I’ve been under the weather lately and food has lost it’s appeal. Two days ago, my appetite resurfaced. So I’ve been gradually introducing more items.

After recovering from stuff I tend to notice that really healthy foods like a salad with a nice mixture of different colored veggies hits the spot. Today I had a golden delicious apple and it was better than any sweet I’ve ever had, or so it seemed. Lol

My son is here from Buffalo and I was telling him that lately I feel drawn to read everything but the Bible. When I use discipline to get into the Bible, even a few sentences tastes like sweet nectar.

When I made my salad today, it was pre-packaged and pre-washed into bite sized pieces. A gift from a friend. There were ready to eat baby carrots and tiny tomatoes that only needed to be rinsed off. All I needed to add was salad dressing to satisfy my taste buds. Mmm good.

I ate a delicious ziti after the salad in a moderate amount because I was testing my abilities with food. Moments later, I decided to have more ziti because it tasted so good. I asked God what He thought. I got the idea not to eat anymore of the Italian style meal.

Years ago, as a teen, I used to overeat because it was there and it stimulated my taste buds but I didn’t feel satisfied afterwards. I found if I ate an apple after eating a dessert, I would feel content. Ziti has some great nutrition to it, but cooked food loses the natural enzymes that are in raw foods. So I found something else to do until the craving passed. Then I thought of a verse in Proverbs:

Proverbs 25:16 (KJV) Hast thou found honey? eat so much as is sufficient for thee, lest thou be filled therewith, and vomit it.

If I’d overeaten, I would have slown down my recovery.

When I read too many books on writing or read fiction and magazines and watch YouTube with my son and then talk on the phone, being alone with God and learning from His word can lose its attraction. In these end times, what a dangerous place to be.

I thank God for all His blessings, but I need Him to keep me on track with our relationship. I make sure I talk to my husband every day and we date regularly when we can, even if we don’t have a dime to spare. A good friend once purchased sparkling grape juice, some easy to make picnic items, and arranged for free or inexpensive babysitting. She kidnapped her husband and they went to a park for a date. They’ve been married over forty years.

I try to eat healthy and I fail to manage it perfectly, but Jesus reminded us in the Scripture when He debated with the devil in the wilderness a priority in life.

In Mat_4:3 (KJV): And when the tempter came to him, he said, If thou be the Son of God, command that these stones be made bread.
Mat_4:4 But he answered and said, It is written, Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceedeth out of the mouth of God.

God’s word is more important than our daily bread.

I need to keep that in mind. That’s why He provides for our needs so we can concentrate on the spiritual realities. I’m thinking Matthew 6:33 (KJV): “Seek ye first the kingdom of God and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”

God bless!

Leave a Reply

