Read Then Write

I read two books on writing today. The first, by Sol Stein, How to Grow A Novel, which I’ve mentioned in an earlier post, needed to be returned to the library. It was published in 1999 by St. Martin’s Press and copyrighted then as well.

Sol Stein has great insight into writing with experience in editing, publishing, and writing.

The second, also a library book, is The Best Writing on Writing, edited by Jack Hefron. Story Press of Cincinnati, OH published it and it was copyrighted in 1994.

Sol Stein rightly said that first draft writing should not be sent out to readers which include editors, even in e-mail query letters. That is my quandary when it comes to blogging almost every day. He also mentioned the marketing departments look at finished works differently than a senior editor whom absolutely loves a certain new title.
They are worlds apart in perspective. You’ll have to read his book to get the complete story.

Anyhow, I got thinking that it was writer’s, editors, and author’s advocates that pushed me into thinking I should blog every day. I believe they were thinking shorter pieces than I end up sending out. Yet all three camps feel if you’re not known in the world, you could be the best wordsmith in the world, your work will not sell.

I like to write for various venues. As an author, I’m in a vulnerable spot, sending out first drafts with no “cooling down” period so I can re-read the words and destroy or edit before launching them on an unsuspecting public.

What pushed me over the edge is the thought that I made a commitment to do so and I thought in my quiet time with the Lord, that He may have wanted me to do so. If I’m wrong, well, it’s too late.

I firmly believe that most folks make the best decision at the time of decision. Having come to a conclusion with whatever they know about the situation, they act and then it’s over. Might as well accept the consequences and hopefully consider anything they’ve learned and then move on. Repent to people and God if they’ve hurt others and try not to do that again. Wallowing in guilt doesn’t help a long time after the case.

That’s what I tell myself after I’ve totally goofed up.

Setting a new course after wrong choices always makes sense. The Apostle Paul wrote: Php 2:3 Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves.
Php 2:4 Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others.
Php 2:5 Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus:
Php 2:6 Who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God:
Php 2:7 But made himself of no reputation, and took upon him the form of a servant, and was made in the likeness of men:
Php 2:8 And being found in fashion as a man, he humbled himself, and became obedient unto death, even the death of the cross.
Php 2:9 Wherefore God also hath highly exalted him, and given him a name which is above every name:
Php 2:10 That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth;
Php 2:11 And that every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

If we think, how will this affect my friends, my family, the people involved, maybe we’ll hold back and decide to do something else instead.

Later, in Philippians, Paul tells us to put the former things behind us. If we blundered, let it go and reach for better goals.

Then in the last chapter, Paul reminds us:
Php 4:7 And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.
Php 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.
Php 4:9 Those things, which ye have both learned, and received, and heard, and seen in me, do: and the God of peace shall be with you.

So, years ago, I gave my writing to Jesus and said, “It’s all Yours, Lord.”

I go to writers conferences when I can. I read books on writing and I take classes when possible. My husband, the non-writer tells me to sit in the chair and write. Be it with a notepad and pen or pencil, or on an electronic devise, writing does not improve if it’s not practiced.

Almost every article or book on writing tells the reader to read what they want to write. So with those admonishments, I will close. God bless!

Leave a Reply

