Inclusive

I complained to my husband today that we now own a chipmunk/bird feeder. It may be a 50/50 split.

“Chipmunks are cute.”

“True.”

Just not what I had in mind.

To totally change the subject, which I’ve been known to do in the middle of things, I thought about the opportunity I took to read from the book of Acts this week. The Nazarenes, a Jewish sect of believers that believed in Jesus Christ as their Messiah, became known as Christians in Antioch according to Acts 11:26.

God always intended for Gentiles to be included in the Jewish faith. God chose the Israelites as His people to be an example to all others in the world.

The prophet Isaiah is quoted as saying:
Isa 49:5, (CEV) Even before I was born, the LORD God chose me to serve him and to lead back the people of Israel. So the LORD has honored me and made me strong.
Isa 49:6 Now the LORD says to me, “It isn’t enough for you to be merely my servant. You must do more than lead back survivors from the tribes of Israel. I have placed you here as a light for other nations; you must take my saving power to everyone on earth.”

In the book of Acts, the Apostle Peter struggles with including Gentiles. The Jewish culture considered outsiders unclean and avoided close contact with them.

So God got through to Peter through a vision beginning in Acts 10:10. It was not what Peter had in mind.

God can change our prejudices and wrong thinking if we allow Him to.

I need to ask Him what my wrong thinking is.

What an adventure life is. Not always easy, but there’s zest in the journey.

God bless!

Leave a Reply

