Light of the World

Sunday morning before leaving for church, I grabbed a few moments to get into the Word. Matthew 5: 14-16 grabbed my eye.

 

This is Jesus speaking in Mat 5:14 (ISV)  “You are the light of the world. A city located on a hill can’t be hidden.

Mat 5:15  People don’t light a lamp and put it under a basket but on a lamp stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.

Mat 5:16  In the same way, let your light shine before people in such a way that they will see your good actions and glorify your Father in heaven.”

 

At the end of his sermon, my husband began quoting from this same verse. I love how God lines things up.

 

A friend gave me the book, Audacious, by Beth Moore, copyrighted by Elizabeth Moore in 2015. It’s published by B & H Publishing Group in Nashville, TN.

 

On page twelve, when speaking of Jesus she says, “He’s in a class by Himself. Call me crazy but, for the life of me, I can’t find a lot not to like about Him. Who else in the entire human experience is incapable of doing you wrong or leaving you stranded or betraying your trust or wasting your time? Who else never recoils at the sight of the real us? Or gets bored with us? Who else never makes a promise He doesn’t have the power to keep? Who else can perform a wonder in a wasteland?”

 

Why does Jesus want people to find Him and get in a right relationship with Him? So He can love them and provide for them and deliver them from sin and guilt and give them a mansion in heaven one day. New believers in Christ are often told to read the book of John first because John explains things so clearly. In John, chapter fourteen, Jesus tells us not to worry.

 

Joh 14:1 (KJV) Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me.

Joh 14:2  In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.

Joh 14:3  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.

 

Here is a great quote from John 8:12(KJV):  Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life.

 

So many wonderful promises in the Bible; if you haven’t read it yet, why not give it a try?

 

God bless!

4 responses

  1. I woke up around 2:15 am and felt to scan FB. I am so Blessed from reading your blog. So much beauty God is showing me in Florida & I am in awe but hearing again what Jesus speaks gives fullfillment like none other. My spirit is being refreshed as well as my physical. Holy Spirit fills this room as I write. This hour is meant for me as God reminds me that He is with me no matter where I go. I know this yet as I write I feel His embrace of protection and warmth. I’ve been on the water & in the air that are places where fear may surface yet His perfect Love cast out all fear. God had me read this at this quiet time to reassure, renew & embrace me with His love. Thank you Connie for the Light of Christ for which you share. ♡ Bonnie

  2. I was reading Constance A Buckley’s post today on “Light of the World”. She is so right about this statement she made “At the end of his sermon, my husband began quoting from this same verse. I love how God lines things up.” That is indeed a profound statement of how we, as living walking Temples of the Spirit of the Living God, all have the oneness of His Spirit in thoughts, wisdom and other beautiful gifts and characteristics He brings to us. Her’s is just one of many examples of how God’s spirit works to make a union between all in the body of our Father God and Savior Yeshua-Jesus. My fiancee asked me one day that if soldiers came to take us away, would I run and risk being shot, or would I go with them or what would I do? I thought a moment and said that my human instincts would be to run, but my spirit says that I would do whatever God wants me to do and if that is captivity or death, then He has a purpose in all these things and I would obey Him. Later when my son and his fiancee came over, he asked them the same question and they replied immediately that they would do what ever God asked them to do. He was so surprised that we all had the same answer. I said to him, don’t be surprised, for we all who are in the body of Jesus will be of His same spirit of God and always defer to Him. Who are we to know what works or wonders God has in store or planned? We must look to our author and finisher of our Faith. God, Father, Sovereign King, Yeshua-Jesus (savior-God) are all one. God himself came down to be like us and suffer and show us the way and sacrificed himself for our sins, so that by and through Him, we would have the power to overcome this world as He did and have everlasting life and love.
    John 14:9 New International Version (NIV)
    9 Jesus answered: “Don’t you know me, Philip, even after I have been among you such a long time? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father. How can you say, ‘Show us the Father’?
    https://endatymes.wordpress.com/2016/05/17/god-the-father-savior-yeshua-jesus-are-one/

Leave a Reply

