The Great Waste

Pro 18:9, (KJV) He also that is slothful in his work is brother to him that is a great waster.

Pro 18:10  The name of the LORD is a strong tower: the righteous runneth into it, and is safe.

 

As I read Proverbs, I wonder why they are linked together without a discernible connection.

 

These two proverbs got me thinking. If I am lazy in my work, I’m negating productivity for my boss or for my own business purposes, even non-profit purposes. By neglecting housework and decorating, a house will lose value on the market when it’s time to sell.

 

If a person neglects seeking God because they don’t care to work against their fleshly desires, great waste comes into their lives: earthly and eventually eternal destruction.

 

Now, someone may say, “Who do you think you are saying if I don’t seek God, I’m courting wastefulness?”

 

Recently, I spoke to a young nurse. I told her that after I went to college, I turned from following Christian practices for a period of time. When I met Christian friends and decided to get back on track with God, it impacted the number of children I had. I felt content with two children. Then spending time in the Word and prayer, I felt as if God wanted me to have another baby.

 

My neighbors told me I’d have another and I said, “No way.”

 

It wasn’t much longer and I began praying that we would have one more child. God gives all of us the choice to follow Him or not. I just know that I’ve heard many testimonies of people that planned to live one way until they decided to give God the reigns of their life.

 

Then the desires of their heart changed. Some missionaries changed course radically. From business school to Bible College, from the accumulation of money to the pouring out of their lives to the poor, they found a radical transformation in direction.

 

If a person decides to follow the precepts of the Bible, they may adopt a stronger work ethic because of reading various verses encouraging working for God and not for man.

 

For example, in Col 3:22, (KJV)  Servants, obey in all things your masters according to the flesh; not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but in singleness of heart, fearing God:

Col 3:23  And whatsoever ye do, do it heartily, as to the Lord, and not unto men;

Col 3:24  Knowing that of the Lord ye shall receive the reward of the inheritance: for ye serve the Lord Christ.

 

Previously, in Col 3:17, (KJV), it says, “And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.”

 

With a greater work ethic, promotions may come along. In some companies, persecution may arise as well, if everyone else slacks off. Jesus said if they persecuted Him, His followers could expect to be persecuted as well. The payoff of eternal life instead of eternal death outweighed any difficulties this earth offers.

 

The Apostle Paul worded it this way in 2Cor. 4:17, (KJV)  “For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory;

2Co 4:18  While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.”

 

God bless!

 

Leave a Reply

