Money, Money, Money

1Timothy 6:10, (KJV)  For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.

 

I’ve heard many say that money is the root of all evil, but God’s word says, “The love of money is the root of all evil,” as noted above.

 

It’s when money becomes all-encompassing, like a god to a person that trouble brews.

 

As I read the fantastic account of Lynda Resnick’s journey in her book, Rubies in the Orchard, with co-author Francis Wilkinson, I need to guard my heart. She’s worked hard with her husband in business and marketing and to find products with value for others.

 

The research costs in dollars and time and heart boggle my mind. She shows the steps forward and the hold ups. I’m half way through this tome published by Doubleday Publishers, New York; London; Toronto; Sydney, and Auckland. It’s copyrighted in 2009.

 

Lynda’s and Stewart’s increase in sales is so beyond my lifestyle, it’s almost hard to comprehend. I need to be careful not to covet their bank account and their savviness.

 

In the Ten Commandments in Exodus 20:1-17, (NKJV), which I’ve edited for brevity, the first commandment says: “I am the LORD your God… you shall have no other gods before Me.”

The second one says: “you shall not make yourself a carved image – any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth; you shall not bow down to them nor serve them…”

The third commandment says: “You shall not take the name of the LORD your God in vain, for the LORD will not hold you guiltless who takes His name in vain.”

The fourth commandment: “Remember the Sabbath day to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor and do all your work, but the seventh day is the Sabbath of the LORD your God.”

The fifth commandment says: “Honor your father and your mother.”

The sixth commandment: “You shall not murder.”

The seventh: “You shall not commit adultery.”

The eighth: “You shall not steal.”

The ninth: “You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.”

The last commandment, number ten says: “You shall not covet your neighbor’s house; you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife; nor his male servant, nor his female servant, nor his ox, nor his donkey, nor anything that is your neighbor’s.”

 

So I may choose to read a book that teaches how to prosper if I’m willing to work hard and make changes and sometimes take a risk of losing everything.

 

I need to remember that money is a tool. I will not worship money or anything it can buy. I will not covet anything I see or touch or hear about that belongs to others.

 

The Ten Commandments are great guideposts for life and for a healthy society. It comes down to choice. Do I believe God gave Moses the Ten Commandments? Do I follow them or not?

 

Our decisions impact life here and life in the hereafter according to the Bible.

 

Something to seriously consider.

 

God bless.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

