Brothers and Sisters

 

“God setteth the solitary in families,” it says in the KJV of the Bible in Psalm 68:6.

 

When one of my sisters died from a prolonged illness, I felt a closer bond to my other siblings. We are the only ones with the same parents and a shared history at the formative years of our lives.

 

A similar sense of humor surfaces when we get together. Certain phrases bring a knowing glance with no explanation needed. Yet as the years pass and the miles separate, it’s inevitable that there are experiences that siblings may know nothing about if communication becomes limited.

 

I remember moving into a new location and I ran into a fellow I hadn’t seen since ninth grade. His sister and he hung around together in school at the lunch room. I’d hear them joking and laughing. I asked, “How’s your sister doing?”

 

He shook his head. “We don’t have anything to do with each other.”

 

I was shocked. Maybe brothers and sisters drift apart over the years easier than sisters. After I got married, I didn’t see as much of my younger brother because we didn’t live right nearby and there are enough years between us, he gravitated to the sisters closer in age to him. He’s a busy guy, as well.

 

Proverbs 18:24, (KJV), says, “A man that hath friends must shew himself friendly: and there is a friend that sticketh closer than a brother.”

 

It’s probably hard to keep close ties with brothers and sisters over the course of a life time with all the changes that life throws our way. I’ve met some Christian folks that I count as close as family in many regards. I thank God for them and I thank God for my flesh and blood relatives.

 

I hope you enjoy your weekend. In America we’re celebrating Memorial Day Weekend to honor our veterans for their sacrifices.

 

God bless.

Leave a Reply

