Commit Your Works

Commit your works to the LORD, and your thoughts will be established. Proverbs 16:3 (KJV)

 

I have this written on a 3” x 5” index card attached to the file cabinet near where I write, so I can see it.

 

Proverbs 16:9 (NKJV) says, “A man’s heart plans his way, but the LORD directs his steps.”

 

I planned to write for four hours today and clean house for four hours today. I flip flopped my choices. I’m at the library writing and will clean four hours after the library closes. They offer shorter hours of operation on the weekend.

 

I dropped into K-Mart on my way to the library for a quick purchase – one personal and one for organizing some of my files. As I headed home I prayed: “Library to write or home to clean, Lord?”

 

The library seemed best and I’m writing this blog entry early in the day because of the choice. I also ran into a lady that started her business – something about being a helper while people are at work – running errands, waiting for repair people to show up at the house, helping to close down summer cottages, a “Jane of all trades,” about the same time I decided to write professionally.

 

She asked for my business card. I gladly found one tucked in my wallet and handed it over. One never knows.

 

She’s crazy busy in the summertime, but in the Fall her business drops off. So she has other irons in the fire.

 

I, too have busy times and less busy times, so as a freelance writer I look for opportunities. I sent my fiction contest entry in on the fourteenth of the month and today I’m working on the Chicken Soup of the Soul story to submit before June 30. I’m thinking I’ll send two stories about teachers and teaching.

 

I pray this finds you well. God bless.

 

 

Leave a Reply

