Perfectionism

Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind

I bought a book a while back entitled Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus & Sharpen Your Creative Mind

 

It’s edited by Jocelyn K. Glei, published by Amazon Publishing, Las Vegas, NV, and copyrighted in 2013.

 

I didn’t realize Amazon published books until just now.

 

“Letting Go of Perfectionism” by Elizabeth Grace Saunders on page 203 spoke to me. She confesses that someone told her she was a perfectionist, but she didn’t have the self-awareness to accept the idea.

 

That’s why in Job_6:24, (KJV), Job says, “Teach me, and I will hold my tongue: and cause me to understand wherein I have erred.”

 

He doesn’t understand why he’s suffering. He’s unsure if he’s done wrong. I’ve been there. I spoke to a lady one time about sewing curtains and the next thing I knew, she stood with her hands on her hips, an exasperated look on her face, and I scrambled to think. Did I sound like I didn’t approve? I’ve sewed curtains many times for various places we’ve lived. I like homemade curtains. So, I moved along and thought if I see her again, hopefully I’ll know if she wants to remain acquaintances or not.

 

Anyway, as I read the author’s insight into perfectionism, I found some of those traits plague me. She gives examples on the paralyzing effects of perfectionism. She gives hints on how to do a good job but to keep on moving. I am glad I read it today. I’ve been working on a few different things and finishing none. So, it frustrated me this afternoon. Now I see why I don’t focus sometimes. Feeling it’s not good enough gives me permission to put it aside. When things unfinished hang over my head, I feel the stress level rise up. Not good.

 

Dear Lord, please help me to have your perspective on life and to finish what I start. I ask in the name of Your Son, Jesus. Amen.

 

I hope you are having a great start to your week. God bless!

2 responses

  1. The obsession for perfection is a sly and crafty tool of the evil one. It’s barb is used to make us feel a failure or see others as a failure. It is used to torment the souls of men into trying to do works to make things in the image of their own sense of perfection. Ever grinding away, ever focused on that goal. This is only one of many ways the evil one seduces mankind away from focusing entirely on Our Lord God Father and Savior.

    Proverbs 4:25New International Version (NIV)
    25 Let your eyes look straight ahead;
    fix your gaze directly before you.

    Once we accept and are comfortable that we can never be perfect and others cannot be perfect, we must then focus on the perfection of our Lord and Savior. We can then systematically replace our thoughts and views with His thoughts and views. Allowing His bright nature to supplant into our dark nature. These are things we cannot do in and of ourselves, but only God through his anointed and appointed Savior-Yeshua-Jesus can do this for us. It is by the works of God’s righteous right hand that these changes can take effect and not of ourselves. When we were purchased, we gave up the rights to judge others, take vengeance, etc. That goes for ourselves as well. We are not our own anymore and belong to the High King of Heaven and earth. We are to relax in his embrace and walk in him and he in us. Along this journey, he will teach us and groom us and love us and change us into His children with a new nature, a bright one. Ask our Lord to take the right you think you have to judge yourself, your own works and ask Him to continually teach you and make your path straight. Confess with your heart and mouth that you have no right to judge yourself and your works and then ask and receive His works, which are freely given.
    Matthew 11:29-30New International Version (NIV)
    29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

    May your path be straight and your life be blessed and the works of your hands be by the anointing of the Holy Spirit. This I pray over you by the power of our High King and Almighty God Father and Savior Yeshua-Jesus. Amen

Leave a Reply

