Wisdom for All Things

I love reading Proverbs, even when some of the pearls of wisdom hit me hard. My daughter-in-law, husband, son and I went to a Christian bookstore today and she bought a book entitled Having a Martha Home the Mary Way: 31 Days to a Clean House and a Satisfied Soul, by Sarah Mae, copyrighted 2016, published by Tyndale Momentum, Carol Stream, IL. I told her I could write a book on housekeeping and organizing from all the books and articles I’ve read on the subject, but because I still struggle with the actual doing of it all, I couldn’t help but scan the WHOLE thing. I really liked it. She had so many good ideas and fresh insights, and she quotes others with their individual points of view.

 

She mentioned some of what Proverbs said, although many of her verses were not from Proverbs. The Bible often confirms itself in other books with the same insights. One thing Proverbs says is in Prov_6:9 (KJV): “How long wilt thou sleep, O sluggard? when wilt thou arise out of thy sleep?”

 

Sarah Mae suggests experimenting with your sleep schedule to see how much sleep actually refreshes you and how much makes you feel logey. I’ve recently discovered that seven hours seems better for me.

 

Proverbs tells us how to raise our children, Prov_22:6, (KJV): Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.

 

Proverbs encourages married folks to be content with each other even into their old age in Proverbs 5:19. It also warns people about the dangers of adultery and alcoholism. Proverbs tells how to handle money:  Prov_22:7, (KJV) says, “The rich ruleth over the poor, and the borrower is servant to the lender.”

 

So if you can possibly do it, don’t borrow money. If you’ve had to, try and pay it back as soon as possible. It will relieve stress in your life.

 

Well, I guess that’s all the pearls of wisdom I’m going to speak of tonight. My grandson wants me to blog about the Ten Commandments, so I’ll begin that tomorrow. I’ll ask him to remind me.

 

May God bless you!

 

Leave a Reply

