Second

Continuing the Ten Commandments blogs, the Second Commandment in the New King James Version of the Bible reads this way in Exodus 20: 4-5: “You shall not make for yourself a carved image – any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth; you shall not bow down to them or serve them. For I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children to the third and fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing mercy to thousands, to those who love Me and keep My commandments.”

I remember going to a church as a youngster and kneeling before a statue called “The Infant of Prague.” I was told to pray to it, it represented Jesus. The Plaster of Paris baby had a chip out of its nose and it was dressed in red velvet clothes with lots of white lace around its neck and wrists. A crown sat upon its 1708-CRhead.www.churchsupplywarehouse.com/catalog

I thought I’m not praying to a statue. I also didn’t believe Jesus wore red velvet and lace as a baby.

Many years later it occurred to me that God protected me from praying to an image of Jesus.

I never heard this commandment until I became an adult. That particular denomination kept that commandment out of their list of Ten and split the “Thou shall not covet” commandments into two so they’d still have a total of ten.

When I watch cartoon movies with Poseidon, god of the sea and watch super hero movies with Thor, god of thunder for example, as a Christian I realize it’s entertainment, but I’m aware of God’s displeasure with false gods. It concerns me that children may not learn about the Judeo/Christian God and may think these other gods are real.

God gave the Israelites commandments in the desert so they could thrive. That’s my take on it. People can follow them with God’s help alone. We are too imperfect on our own. I thank God for His mercy and grace.

May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

