Seventh

In discussing The Ten Commandments, I’m now on the seventh one, which is “You shall not commit adultery,” from Exodus 20:14, (NKJV).

Jesus said, in Mat_5:28, (KJV), “But I say unto you, That whosoever looketh on a woman to lust after her hath committed adultery with her already in his heart.”

God ordained sex between a man and a woman when they become married. That’s it. He didn’t give any exceptions.

In the book of 1 Corinthians, chapter 6, the Apostle Paul wrote to the church the following verses, inspired by the Holy Spirit:

1Co 6:9, (KJV)  Know ye not that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Be not deceived: neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor abusers of themselves with mankind,

1Co 6:10  Nor thieves, nor covetous, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor extortioners, shall inherit the kingdom of God.

1Co 6:11  And such were some of you: but ye are washed, but ye are sanctified, but ye are justified in the name of the Lord Jesus, and by the Spirit of our God.

1Co 6:12  All things are lawful unto me, but all things are not expedient: all things are lawful for me, but I will not be brought under the power of any.

1Co 6:13  Meats for the belly, and the belly for meats: but God shall destroy both it and them. Now the body is not for fornication, but for the Lord; and the Lord for the body.

1Co 6:14  And God hath both raised up the Lord, and will also raise up us by his own power.

1Co 6:15  Know ye not that your bodies are the members of Christ? shall I then take the members of Christ, and make them the members of an harlot? God forbid.

1Co 6:16  What? know ye not that he which is joined to an harlot is one body? for two, saith he, shall be one flesh.

1Co 6:17  But he that is joined unto the Lord is one spirit.

1Co 6:18  Flee fornication. Every sin that a man doeth is without the body; but he that committeth fornication sinneth against his own body.

1Co 6:19  What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own?

1Co 6:20  For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.

 

I heard a preaching on this subject this week on Christian radio. I wish I could remember if it was Pastor James McDonald, or Pastor Chip Ingram, or a speaker on Focus on the Family. Those are the three programs I catch with the most regularity. Anyway, they said that sexual sin bothers the participants more than any other sin and causes the longest lasting guilt when a Christian falls. That is because it is a sin against a person’s very own body.

Some people have said that an adulterous affair or two single people having sex with each other forms “soul ties,” which are hard to break. Sex outside of God’s prescribed manner causes complications that guys and gals may not be aware of before their first experience.

Of course, there’s always the chance of sexually transmitted diseases, which are rampant in many places. Unexpected pregnancies may result. Occasionally ladies get an abortion and that causes other problems. Some serious side effects besides the death of a pre-born baby may include depression in women in their thirties, medical mishaps that cause death of the mother, sterility of the mother so she can’t bear any other children, feelings of guilt and loss, breast cancer in the mother, and loss of significant relationships after the fact.

Americans have killed 56 million pre-born babies! What a travesty.

I think God knows what He’s doing when He sets men and women inside the bonds of matrimony for sexual satisfaction, for families, and for guardianship of our little innocent ones.

When I decided to write on The Ten Commandments, I didn’t think the topic would get me into such deep discussions.

Well, anyway, we serve a merciful God and if you have had any link in the abortion industry: a client, a provider, a legislator helping to fund Planned Parenthood, a family member pushing the young girl to abort or the father of the aborted child, a counselor suggesting an abortion, a medical person telling a girl to abort, and/or an advocate for abortion – even a friend saying, “You need to do this” – I just want you to know that God forgives.

God forgives sexual sins and all others except one, the blaspheming of the Holy Spirit. In the Good News Bible it’s written like this: Mat_12:32 “Anyone who says something against the Son of Man can be forgiven; but whoever says something against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven—now or ever.”

God may allow you to suffer consequences of wrong choices, according to His commandments, but He promises if you ask for His help and His forgiveness and if you seek Him, He promises to go through the waters with you.

This is a psalm of David when King Saul pursued him to kill him.

In the KJV of the Bible, it says in Psa 18:16, “He sent from above, he took me, he drew me out of many waters.

Psa 18:17  He delivered me from my strong enemy, and from them which hated me: for they were too strong for me.

Psa 18:18  They prevented me in the day of my calamity: but the LORD was my stay.

Psa 18:19  He brought me forth also into a large place; he delivered me, because he delighted in me.

Psa 18:20  The LORD rewarded me according to my righteousness; according to the cleanness of my hands hath he recompensed me.”

 

May God bless!

Leave a Reply

