Tenth

 

Exodus 20:17 (NASB) says, “You shall not covet your neighbor’s house; you shall not covet your neighbor’s wife or his male servant or his female servant or his ox or his donkey or anything that belongs to your neighbor.”

Then in verses 18 & 19, it says, “All the people perceived the thunder and the lightning flashes and the sound of the trumpet and the mountain smoking; and when the people saw it, they trembled and stood at a distance. 19 Then they said to Moses, ‘Speak to us yourself and we will listen; but let not God speak to us, or we will die.’”

God encourages us to fear Him – stay in awe of Him. Yet, He is a God of love and wants relationship with us. In John 15:12 – 15 (ESV), Jesus is speaking: Joh 15:12  “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.

Joh 15:13  Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.

Joh 15:14  You are my friends if you do what I command you.

Joh 15:15  No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you.”

With the Ten Commandments, God lets us know the law. The Ten Commandments are God’s standard for successful living according to His desires, but He knew that no one could measure up to them. So, He asked Jesus to put aside His deity and take on all of mankind’s sins as a perfect sacrifice so people could be set free from shameful behavior and be acceptable to God, the Father. Sin is so reprehensible to God, He wanted to make a way for forgiveness of sins and Jesus willingly came to earth for our benefit.

As we look at our neighbor’s spouse or any of their possessions and long for them with such desire that we’d like them for our own, God tells us to be satisfied with what we’ve got. Take those thoughts of longing and put them out of our minds. Focus on our own spouse, focus on our own belongings and be thankful, that’s what God wants. He wants our love. Praise God.

Php 4:4, (ESV) says, “Rejoice in the Lord always; again I will say, rejoice.

Php 4:5  Let your reasonableness be known to everyone. The Lord is at hand;

Php 4:6  do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

Php 4:7  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

Then, later in the book, it says in Php 4:10, (ESV), “I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at length you have revived your concern for me. You were indeed concerned for me, but you had no opportunity.

Php 4:11  Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.

Php 4:12  I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.

Php 4:13  I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”

God is our provider, He wants to take care of us and He directs us to work for a living, too.

May God bless you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

