Strong

My husband preaches about Jesus being a strong man. Jesus walked up mountainsides with His disciples. He was a carpenter without power tools. He ate healthy foods, like fish and figs.

I’ve been re-reading the book of John because a woman in her nineties came to Christ and we are studying the book of John a chapter or two at a time. We’re on our second time around instead of going to another book.

This last time, I was listening to her read. Ninety-four and she reads well and understands. She used to be in the Navy and then she was a librarian at the VA. A tough cookie with a tender heart.

Anyway, we were reading where Jesus taught the Jewish people and some of the leaders questioned His authority and His deity. He spoke with strength of character and pure truth. Joh_8:44,(ESV) “You are of your father the devil, and your will is to do your father’s desires. He was a murderer from the beginning, and does not stand in the truth, because there is no truth in him. When he lies, he speaks out of his own character, for he is a liar and the father of lies.”

It hit me as if I’d never read those words before. Jesus said what He felt needed to be said. He told them that where He was going they could not go when He went to the Father. I thought, my goodness, He’s telling them out right, they’ll not make it to heaven.

Then they told Him the miracles He performed were from the devil. Some people have no fear of God. They saw Him raise a young man from the dead, so his widowed mother would have her son to provide for her. It doesn’t ring true that the devil would heal a young man and be kind. He hates us because we’re made in God’s image. Jesus said in John 10:10, (ESV): “The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly.”

When I see hatred and tragedies, I think how the devil is stirring people up. I understand it, too. Sometimes I feel ugly inside, and then I have to pray and ask God to help me, and repent if I’ve acted out at all. His perfect peace that passes all understanding, (Philippians 4:7) comes upon me, so I can gain control over my emotions and I think once more, how great is our God!

 

May God bless you!

 

Leave a Reply

