Diligence

Prov 21:5, (ESV): The plans of the diligent lead surely to abundance, but everyone who is hasty comes only to poverty.

This verse is on my bulletin board to remind me to stay with the work I’m attempting. I was asking the Lord for a title because I wrote this blog and couldn’t seem to come up with a title. Then I noticed the verse tucked up on the right. So I will begin:

I had a busy day today. I like busy actually. I cleaned the house for a while, did some bookkeeping, read the Beatitudes in Matthew 5, ironed clothes, did laundry, went to lunch with my husband, put gas in the car, visited a friend at the library, stopped for two minutes at another friend’s house to drop off something and then went to the dr.’s office forty-five minutes away. I got there early, yay.

He said all is well; Praise God, and then I went to a different library to actually choose a book or two before going grocery shopping. I drove home, put the stuff away, cooked dinner and later my daughter and her husband stopped by.

So now I’m blogging close to midnight, so it’ll look like I skipped a day by the time I finish. Ah, well.

What a difference a day makes. Yesterday it rained when I thought I’d go to the library, twice, so I ended up staying home. A woman speaks thousands of words a day and the majority of gals are wired that way. I honestly think I only spoke around 500 words yesterday.

My husband met with people all day and into the night, so he didn’t have any words left to give.

I felt like I ran around in circles all day not getting anything done, although that wasn’t entirely true.

The bright spot of my day: when I read the Word, I felt my spirits lift despite the gray skies; and even if my husband fell asleep in the chair, I enjoyed seeing him. I’ve been reading Deep in the Heart, Book 1 in the Lonestar Legacy series by Gilbert Morris, copyrighted in 2003, published by Integrity Publishers, Brentwood, TN.

He is such a prolific writer. I’ve read a ton of his books over the years and enjoyed every one of them, even though one described Civil War torture of prisoners and that was too graphic for me.

I own a non-fiction book by Gilbert Morris on writing a novel and he covered so many essentials and discussed getting the work published. It’s been out a while now, but I got a lot out of doing the exercises, too.

I was thinking today how Gilbert Morris and T. Davis Bunn, (aka Davis Bunn), two of my favorite novelists, portray women with dignity and respect and insight. I appreciate that.

I had the privilege of meeting T.Davis Bunn at Montrose Christian Writers Conference many years ago and he was already well known in literary circles with lots of fans. He encouraged us by saying he started out just like we were and to keep at it. He taught and later, ate with the conferees, but he was on deadline, so he wrote whenever he found a spare moment. He gave up some of the activities at the conference, and apologized to us for not being there. That in itself was an eye-opener.

Writing the many novels he’s penned takes discipline.

In Proverbs 12:27, (KJV) it says, “The slothful man roasteth not that which he took in hunting: but the substance of a diligent man is precious.”

May God bless you and may your work bless Him and others.

 

 

Leave a Reply

