Thwarted Plans

After my trip to the hospital the other night, I got thinking how my plans for the next day went by the wayside.

I had to cancel a dermatology appointment I’d been waiting months for. I intended to visit a gal in a nursing home. I wanted to buy jewelry to promote a cause, pretty to look at as a plus.

Proverbs 27:1 (ESV) says, “Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring.”

I’ve seen that truth portrayed over and over again in my life. It helps if I can stay calm in the midst of unexpected events.

Yesterday my husband and I made plans but when our daughter and her husband asked if they could come over to talk, we rearranged our schedule.

On Thursday I had this thought to check out my planner. When I did I realized it was forty-five minutes past an appointment to be at the auto shop. I called and they said if I got in before the next hour or so, it’d be fine.

When I came in, the mechanic said, “I wondered what was going on, you’ve never not shown up.”

Getting ill early in the week has thrown the whole week off, my perspective on my days and responsibilities are off kilter. I know this too shall pass.

As much as I can know anything.

God bless!

2 responses

  1. I once heard a very simple and wise jewel of advice a long time ago…”Let go and let God.” Then later as I began to do that the Spirit of our Lord just indicated to me to let go and go with His flow, relax in Him. Those were probably the 2 most important things that were shared with me. Since then, I find I really do not stress out any more over much of anything. I hope that helps. Any time I was in a hurry and counting the clock, He would find a way to slow me down and take time to look around and really perceive the world around me. What a difference. Proverbs 16:9 New King James Version (NKJV)

    9 A man’s heart plans his way,
    But the Lord directs his steps.

    Praise God for He cares so much for each of us that He even directs our steps. May you find blessing in these words.

Leave a Reply

