To Speak or Not to Speak

I went to the library today to see a friend. Sometimes we get kidding around and then I second guess if I said the wrong thing. I think I should pray every time I interact in person or by text or on social media for God to put a guard on my lips and for clarity of communication.

Our Ladies’ Bible Study finished The Mind Connection by Joyce Meyer which I intend to give to our local library. We got the study book and that will help me if I want to reminisce about her points later on. She spoke of controlling our thoughts so we can control our words and ultimately our actions. I recommend it.

The Bible mentions quietness as an asset many times. For instance: Proverbs_17:28, (KJV) Even a fool, when he holdeth his peace, is counted wise: and he that shutteth his lips is esteemed a man of understanding.

Pro_18:6  A fool’s lips enter into contention, and his mouth calleth for strokes.

(Strokes in the eighteen hundreds meant hits or punishment of some sort.)

Pro_18:7  A fool’s mouth is his destruction, and his lips are the snare of his soul.

Pro_19:1  Better is the poor that walketh in his integrity, than he that is perverse in his lips, and is a fool.

Pro_23:9  Speak not in the ears of a fool: for he will despise the wisdom of thy words.

Exo_14:14  The LORD shall fight for you, and ye shall hold your peace.

(When I looked up this word peace in a concordance it meant to be quiet.)

Ecc_9:17  The words of wise men are heard in quiet more than the cry of him that ruleth among fools.

This is a favorite verse of mine: 1Thessalonians_4:11 (KJV) And that ye study to be quiet, and to do your own business, and to work with your own hands, as we commanded you;

It’s a good reminder to me to stay out of the middle of things that are not my business, to do my own work, and to learn to be quiet. Quietness does not come easily to me. Sometimes my strengths can be my weaknesses. I appreciate verses about stilling my tongue, as in the book of James when it describes the tongue as being unruly. God helps people to control their words.

Be blessed and have hope in Jesus. He is perfect and He is love. I’m holding on to Him whenever I hear unsettling news.

Leave a Reply

