Surrendered to God

When I went to a Bible study this morning I asked one of the elderly participants to open in prayer. I wish I could remember the word she used. The gist of it was that we be totally under God’s power. I was surprised that it didn’t set well with me. I’ve sung “I Surrender All” – a hymn from 1896, written by J.W. Van Deventer with music by W.S. Weeden. When singing I’ve prayed that it be true. Yet a momentary hardening of my will gave me a warning as she prayed. I need to hand my life completely over to God. I’m so glad He found me when I was young. He’s been molding my character for years. It needs more shaping. He’s probably working on the deep rooted sins now.

I want to let go of everything that He wants from me. I trust Him to help me see it through if ever I need to make the choice, Him or things of this world. I’ve done that many times over the years. That’s why I was surprised at the gut reaction against her word. It was a stronger version of conforming us to Christ’s image: crushing sin out of us, maybe. I asked her what she’d said. She’s ninety something. She couldn’t remember.

We moved on to our study and one newer convert was struggling. I asked my husband how to help her. He said to ask her questions about what we read and see what she says. That will help if I engage her in a different manner than in the past. I thought of that myself today, but his wording clarified it for me. She’s up there in age, too and they wake her extraordinarily early so everyone can be showered and fed by the workers. By eleven a.m. she’s taking cat naps.

God knows all about her. He promises to keep those that believe in Him.

Eph 1:13, (KJV): In whom ye also trusted, after that ye heard the word of truth, the gospel of your salvation: in whom also after that ye believed, ye were sealed with that holy Spirit of promise,

Eph 1:14  Which is the earnest of our inheritance until the redemption of the purchased possession, unto the praise of his glory.

I’ll do my best and pray for her and leave her in His loving hands. That’s all I can do.

I hope this finds you well. God bless!

Leave a Reply

