Wisdom From Above

The book of James, like the book of Proverbs is considered a book of wisdom.

Since man has wisdom of his own, and there’s two supernatural sources of wisdom – the evil one and the good – God, I really appreciate James 3:17 (NASB). But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, reasonable, full of mercy and good fruits, unwavering, without hypocrisy.

James 3:14-16 says, “But if you have bitter jealousy and selfish ambition in your heart, do not be arrogant and so lie against the truth. This wisdom is not that which comes down from above, but is earthly, natural, demonic. For where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there is disorder and every evil thing.

When I’m trying to discern if an idea is from me, from God, or from the demonic I love having guidelines. James 3: 17,18 But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, reasonable, full of mercy and good fruits, unwavering, without hypocrisy. And the seed whose fruit is righteousness is sown in peace by those who make peace.

Years ago I learned when making a difficult decision to finally trust peace or the lack of it when deciding between options. Other steps help:

  • Pray first
  • Seek wise counsel
  • Gather facts
  • Weigh the pros and the cons

Having done all of that, if you’re still in turmoil, then take time to picture your action and check your inner most being for peace.

I don’t always remember that admonition from many years ago, but maybe it’s become a part of me for major decisions.

I’ll never be perfect and trying to be perfect all the time can make life difficult for us and others. Sometimes we’re more willing to give grace to others and expect too much from ourselves. A couple of years ago I planned on spending the better part of a week with my sister-in-law while my brother was out of town. Due to a series of mishaps, in the midst of fatigue, I changed my mind.

She was gracious, but I felt bad for changing things around. I felt unable to continue staying there because I kept getting lost on the drive home from a writers’ conference. It was so weird. Not that I got lost, but at the frequency of it. My GPS threw me off a few times due to the mountains, I found out later.

Well, if you struggle with making the right choice sometimes, like I do, I hope these tips I’ve picked up over the years help you. I learned to make decisions when I’ve caught up on my rest when I can after I visited my relative.

May God bless you big time!

2 responses

Leave a Reply

