Being Flexible

I’m not sure if it’s because I’m getting older or if it’s because I’m eating more sugar than I used to, but I ended up with another round of antibiotics starting today.

I was expecting to go to a county fair today and to go for a training session and to accompany my husband through the fairgrounds to see the animals.

All of that and some of my plans for tomorrow disappeared. Yesterday I measured and cut curtains for my daughter and son-in-law’s new house. I intended to finish the cutting and to begin the sewing today, but that too went on hold.

So, I called a friend I’ve been meaning to call for a while and we had a nice visit. Then tonight, my brother called and I enjoyed talking to him.

I saw Proverbs 27:1 (ESV) from a previous blog today: “Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring.”

That’s kind of been my life lately, so I’m trying to go with the flow. I have decided to get back to an earlier bedtime. I don’t think staying up late is helping my health any either.

I don’t really like talking about health issues, but sometimes that’s the way it goes. Monday night we got to see my grandson in a soccer game, the first we’ve been able to attend this year. I hope to see the kids before too long. School starts in early September and when autumn hits I begin to think about cold weather heading our way. So, on Sunday I called some friends about getting together for lunch and the chance to catch up in September. We’ve known them for years. We don’t live near them anymore, so we try to keep in touch when we can. I wish it were more often, but it’s better than not at all.

How do you accept the unexpected? Kicking and fighting interruptions? Or are you laid back and looking for the good or the fun in the change of plans? I’m somewhere in the middle.

May God bless you.

2 responses

  1. Sometimes my dear, The Lord wants us to just take a break and slow down and spend quiet time at His feet. Relax and enjoy it and spend time with him and just let the other things and noise of this life just fade into the back ground.
    Luke 10:38-42
    38 Now it came to pass, as they went, that he entered into a certain village: and a certain woman named Martha received him into her house.

    39 And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard his word.

    40 But Martha was cumbered about much serving, and came to him, and said, Lord, dost thou not care that my sister hath left me to serve alone? bid her therefore that she help me.

    41 And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things:

    42 But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.

    • I love those verses. I do believe I used to be more of a Mary and less of a Martha. Now I feel like more of a Martha but with less accomplished than I picture Martha having done. I remember reading a true story of a woman that put God first every morning and she got all her work done with God’s peace prevailing. Thanks for a great response and a wonderful reminder.

Leave a Reply

