Alone

There are times when people long to be alone. Away from crowds, noise, responsibilities, and even loved ones. When we’re alone and away from the television, computer, electronic devices, radios and phones we may stand a chance of connecting with God. As I’ve written before, Psalm 46:10: “Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth,” is one of my favorite verses.

There are times when I was alone and I was lonely. Trying to get over the loneliness, I called friends or family, watched television, buried my nose in a book, ate something whether hungry or not, or went shopping. After none of those things lessened the loneliness one day, I began singing, “What a Friend We Have in Jesus,” a hymn from 1855, written by Joseph M. Scriven, with a copyright status of Public Domain. The composer of the music was Charles C. Converse in 1868.

As I sang the song it felt like I woke from a dream, “Oh, yeah!”

I’m never alone. Jesus promised to never leave nor forsake us in Heb 13:5, (GNB) Keep your lives free from the love of money, and be satisfied with what you have. For God has said, “I will never leave you; I will never abandon you.”

In the book of John, chapter 15: 1-11, (ESV) it says, “I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser.

Joh 15:2  Every branch in me that does not bear fruit he takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit he prunes, that it may bear more fruit.

Joh 15:3  Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you.

Joh 15:4  Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.

Joh 15:5  I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing.

Joh 15:6  If anyone does not abide in me he is thrown away like a branch and withers; and the branches are gathered, thrown into the fire, and burned.

Joh 15:7  If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

Joh 15:8  By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples.

Joh 15:9  As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love.

Joh 15:10  If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love.

Joh 15:11  These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.”

All those years ago, I discovered that I am never alone. It has brought me great joy. Not that I don’t get lonely anymore, but it’s not often and when I do get lonely, I realize I need to read the Bible and talk to Jesus. That’s what I’m really longing for.

May God bless you.

One response

  1. The continuity of God’s Holy Spirit is amazing. I was just talking about these very same things this morning to my husband. He is still a baby believer. We got up this morning and the first one I think of before bed is my Lord God and the first thing I think of is Him in the morning. I always thank him for the day and I tell him in the morning “Good morning my love, my God.”
    This morning I did that, but instead of getting up to go straight to spending my morning time in His word and communing with him, I went to a book I had started reading and all of the sudden, this dialog started in my head. It was, “Why are you not spending time with Me?” and I said, well I just wanted to read this book some more. Then all of the sudden, images and conversations about Jesus asking the disciples to stop what they are doing and follow Him. The voice in my head said , ” They stopped what they were doing and FOLLOWED me.” He showed me that they ate with Him, slept with him and were taught by him and did what he told them to do and they did it. He showed me how Mary sat at his feet to listen to Him while Martha scolded Mary about not helping her get things ready for all the guests and he admonished Martha that what Mary was doing WAS more important and Martha had chosen what she thought was more important.
    Then I laughed and said, but Lord, you ARE my obsession and you know it. You are in my heart, mind and soul all day long and I think of you all the time and study your word so much through the day. He put in my heart “and yes, and I love that!”
    He said other people know and believe, but they don’t walk in Him, they don’t walk with Him. They know and believe, but they don’t follow Him and put on his yolk. They go just so and stop at the point of of yielding themselves to him fully. He intimated to me that people know the sky is blue and there are clouds in it, but pay little attention. He said knowing is not believing. Believing is acting on that belief. He indicated that while he was here, he showed what was important and how to love, forgive, show compassion and mercy, and to share. He showed us how to be obedient to the will of his father.
    Needless to say, this dialog in my head went very fast with flashing of images of the past, like a movie picture and the words of scripture running through my head. I chuckled and got up to go to my desk and spend the time with Him in the morning with him.
    I was telling my husband what had just happened as well. He said yes, the Lord IS your obsession to the point that you often don’t seem like you are here all the time. Distracted is how he put it. And I agreed, I am often distracted every day as my mind is so much more on our Lord God Father and Savior than it is with the troubles of this world and the vanities of what we think are more important. Now, more than ever in history before, we need to be focused on our Lord. The storm is coming and there is every indication that Messiah Yeshua-Jesus is finally come to claim that which is rightfully his. Praise Elohim and the Lamb of the Most High Sovereign Lord of the Universe.
    What a friend we have in Jesus, INDEED!

Leave a Reply

