To Clean or Not to Clean

 

I went to the library today because I had three magazines to return. I always take out three and study them in case I want to write for them. It helps to read at least three issues if not more. When I wrote down the name of the editor and checked out the masthead for query information, in the tiniest print it said that particular periodical keeps all rights to the written word so the author can’t sell the same information a few years down the line to another magazine without any chance of an overlap of readers. So I chose another magazine to study instead.

The same corporation published both periodicals, but the second one didn’t say anything about keeping all rights to the material. I checked out some articles about organizing and decorating and cleaning the house. I intended to clean when I got done anyway, so I figured those were good articles to stimulate my thoughts towards order and a pretty home. As soon as I got home, my husband called to say he was on his way to our house and could I please fix him dinner since we both had a class to attend. By the time the meal was ready, we needed to eat quickly and scoot out the door.

We had company last weekend, so I’ve been finding toys under the couch and a plastic alligator with an open mouth by the back door. I also noticed I’d tucked some clutter into an empty laundry basket that I’d intended to get to right away so it didn’t find a permanent home there. Tonight I got working on sorting through the items in the basket and recycled some papers and threw some things away and was just about to put things in their proper place, when my husband looked at the clock. “Are you going to blog tonight?”

My husband reminded me to blog and didn’t suggest I finish my de-cluttering! Wow! Genesis chapter two tells of God creating woman from the rib of Adam so he could have an help meet for him. That’s King James for a suitable companion and one that helps him face life. That’s my thinking from reading lots of stuff and hearing sermons on the Scriptures. He’s strong in his ways, she’s strong in her ways and they complement each other. My husband and I celebrated our forty-first anniversary this summer and in Genesis 2:24 it says in the (KJV) of the Bible, “Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh.”

My husband encouraging me to write, me enjoying de-cluttering so much that I forgot to write, I’d say it’s happened. 🙂

 

God bless you big time.

Leave a Reply

