Knowing

 

At the end of a vacation to see my son and his family this summer, he said, “We’ll see you again at Thanksgiving.”

Everyone smiled and I tried to, but deep down inside I knew it wouldn’t happen. Last week or so ago, his wife needed to take a day off for a medical reason in the family. She lost a day at work, so now she can’t make the trip in November.

“Go without me,” she said.

“No, I’m not doing that,” he told her.

Good guy.

Have you ever known something was going to happen? When we were young and poor, having moved to Texas years ago to take advantage of a healthy job market, a local radio station offered a cash prize for the twelfth caller, or fifteenth caller. I don’t remember. What I do remember is waiting a moment or two with a solid certainty that I’d be the winner, and I was!

The only furniture we owned was a used inexpensive kitchen set and a baby crib. My husband and I had purchased a foam mattress from a store that sold foam and we slept on that on the floor. My sister-in-law’s family felt bad for us, so they’d provided us with the radio.

I was a Christian at the time, but I had put God aside for the most part. Yet He still blessed us. My husband worked hard and eventually we did get a couch and chair.

One of the gifts of the Spirit is the word of knowledge.

This was mentioned in 1 Corinthians 12:8 (KJV): “For to one is given by the Spirit the word of wisdom; to another the word of knowledge by the same Spirit;”

Now I’m not saying I had a word of wisdom or a word of knowledge, but I had a knowing, an unshakable knowing.

I spoke to someone about this and they said everyone experiences this occasionally whether they believe in God or not.

That may be true. I enjoyed reading 1 Cor. 12 and seeing the list of gifts from God’s Spirit that He gives to believers as He wishes to do.

May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

