Revenge or Forgiveness?

 

Phil. 2:1-4 (NKJV), says, “Therefore, if there is any consolation in Christ, if any comfort of love, if any fellowship of the Spirit, if any affection and mercy, fulfill my joy by being like-minded, having the same love, being of one accord, of one mind. Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself. Let each of you look out not only for his own interests, but also for the interests of others.”

My husband and I went to see “Ben-Hur,” the new movie produced by spouses Ramona Downey and Mark Burnett, made by Metro Goldwyn Mayer and Paramount Pictures.Ben-Hur

The movie was written by Keith Clarke and John Ridley, based on the book written by Lew Wallace in his 1880 novel Ben-Hur: A Tale of the Christ, now in Public Domain.  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ben-Hur_%282016_film%29

It stars Jack Huston as Judah Ben-Hur, Toby Kebbell as his adopted brother, Messala; Morgan Freeman as a sheik/horse trainer who owns chariots for racing and winning bets; Nazinin Boniadi as Ben-Hur’s love interest; Rodrigo Santoro as Jesus Christ; Ayelet Zurer as his mother, Naomi; Sophia Black D’Elia as his sister, Tirzah; and Pilou Asbaek as Pontius Pilate. Timur Bekmambetov directed the epic film.

The movie spoke about family love and loyalty and lots more. An action film filled with conflict and violence and poignant tenderness. Jesus Christ is a minor character in the movie and for once He’s not portrayed as a “pretty” man, weak. In the movie He never speaks of hell, which was a term Jesus didn’t shy away from, and repentance as well. I found the movie stirred my heart. I would have preferred less violence, but I always feel that way when I view action movies.

I expected to write this blog last night, but my computer kept saying there was a problem with the internet. My husband checked our connection on his computer, and it worked perfectly. Sometimes I feel God allows me to face interruptions because the timing isn’t right, or because I’ve made a grammatical error in a query letter, for instance. A no-no for a writer! 🙂 So I gave up and figured I’d type another day.

May God bless you.

Leave a Reply

