Psalms to Live By

Psa 84:1, (JPS)  (84:1) For the Leader; upon the Gittith. A Psalm of the sons of Korah.   (84:2) How lovely are Thy tabernacles, O LORD of hosts!

Psa 84:2  (84:3) My soul yearneth, yea, even pineth for the courts of the LORD; my heart and my flesh sing for joy unto the living God.

Psa 84:3  (84:4) Yea, the sparrow hath found a house, and the swallow a nest for herself, where she may lay her young; Thine altars, O LORD of hosts, my King, and my God – .

Psa 84:4  (84:5) Happy are they that dwell in Thy house, they are ever praising Thee. Selah

Psa 84:5  (84:6) Happy is the man whose strength is in Thee; in whose heart are the highways.

Psa 84:6  (84:7) Passing through the valley of Baca they make it a place of springs; yea, the early rain clotheth it with blessings.

Psa 84:7  (84:8) They go from strength to strength, every one of them appeareth before God in Zion.

Psa 84:8  (84:9) O LORD God of hosts, hear my prayer; give ear, O God of Jacob. Selah

Psa 84:9  (84:10) Behold, O God our shield, and look upon the face of Thine anointed.

Psa 84:10  (84:11) For a day in Thy courts is better than a thousand; I had rather stand at the threshold of the house of my God, than to dwell in the tents of wickedness.

Psa 84:11  (84:12) For the LORD God is a sun and a shield; the LORD giveth grace and glory; no good thing will He withhold from them that walk uprightly.

Psa 84:12  (84:13) O LORD of hosts, happy is the man that trusteth in Thee.

Not only did I get blessed by reading this psalm this afternoon, but then I read Psalm 86:11 – 13, (NKJV) and I had to write it in my notebook for a chance to read it again. So, here it is:

Teach me Your way, O Lord; I will walk in Your truth; Unite my heart to fear Your name. I will praise You, O Lord, my God, with all my heart, And I will glorify Your name forevermore. For great is Your mercy toward me, And You have delivered my soul from the depths of Sheol.

Then in Psalm 92: 12 – 15, (NKJV), it says, “The righteous shall flourish like a palm tree, He shall grow like a cedar in Lebanon. Those who are planted in the house of the Lord Shall flourish in the courts of our God. They shall bear fruit in old age; they shall be fresh and flourishing, To declare that the Lord is upright; He is my rock; and there is no unrighteousness in Him.”

Oh, hallelujah! What wonderful words preserved for us over thousands of years.

I read a book by Patricia MacLachlan, which I hope to write about Monday night. This book is entitled, Baby. I’ve read a few more of her titles. What a gift her writing is to me, and I would assume to many others.

I hope you can make it to your place of worship this week. You never know who might need to see your face. Be blessed!

One response

  1. I do love those and what marvelous words befitting our great High King Sovereign and God. I still remember a hymn we sang in church and is a favorite (Just a part here)
    As the deer panteth for the water
    So my soul longeth after thee
    You alone are my heart’s desire
    And I long to worship thee

    You alone are my strength, my shield
    To you alone may my spirit yield
    You alone are my heart’s desire
    And I long to worship thee

    We are aliens in this land of darkness and as we sojourn, our souls long to be home with our beloved Lord God Father and Savior Yeshua-Jesus. Thanks so much for sharing those praises. Blessed be the name of the Lord.

Leave a Reply

