Cooking Stew

 

I decided to watch a cooking show because they were making a stew, which I decided to make for a meal we’re invited to next week. The show was actually demonstrating how to cut vegetables and meat fast and safely by using a sharp knife and smart techniques. I paid attention so I wouldn’t cut myself, but mostly I wanted to see what went into his recipe.

He used three or four vegetables in addition to those that I normally choose: corn, mushrooms, turnips and green beans. His spices included garlic, eight cloves when I probably would have used two, which I haven’t in the past. He also threw in thyme and oregano, which I haven’t added in. He used stock instead of water. I usually add a touch of vinegar or cooking wine, he mentioned wine, but I saw him drink some, not put it in the pot.

I add salt and pepper; he put a good amount on the meat, steak which I don’t use. I buy a cheaper cut of beef already cubed by the butcher, called stew meat in America. Then he added more salt and pepper to the vegetables. My husband said if I were on a cooking show they would probably tell me that I under season my food. He adds hot sauce or Worcestershire sauce to a lot of his foods, even at a restaurant. So, we’re okay with our different tastes in spices, if there’s not enough he just adds some.

I made a soup last week in the Crockpot which magnifies the flavors of the spices and I used more salt than normal, plus I added French Onion soup cooking base and a small amount of Bragg’s Liquid Aminos – similar to Soy Sauce – which increased the amount of salt.

Whooee! Talk about salty. I added stevia, water, corn and it still tasted like a salty mess. Years ago, my mom told me to put cubed raw potatoes into a salty soup or stew and after they’re cooked to remove them because they’ve absorbed a lot of the salt. It worked, somewhat.

Eventually, the soup turned into goulash because it cooked down and after a few days we were glad to come to the end of it. I haven’t had a fiasco like that in a long time. Lol.

That’s one advantage of eating raw foods. I rarely add salt to a raw food.

I hope this blog finds you well. May God bless you. Keep looking up, our redemption draws closer. That’s according to Luke 21:28 when speaking of end times, which could be soon, or not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

