Jesus Prays Before He Gets Betrayed

I enjoy going to the nursing home for our Bible study, but I have to admit that I’m tired by Friday. Today we studied a few chapters in John. It’s a privilege to discuss the Word of God with women that have known Jesus for many decades and then to try and teach a woman in her 90’s. One of the ladies fell asleep in her wheelchair in her room. When I entered, she had fallen forward and her hand reached out in a funny way. I started praying, “Dear God, please let her be alive.”

He is a good God, she woke up easily. I guess that’s a position that stretches her back in a positive way and she’s happy when it happens. We’re all so unique, aren’t we? I would have had a muscle pull, I think.

When I checked the Holy Bible on my cell phone, the (NKJV) highlighted certain sections of the Scriptures. Since we studied them this morning, I wanted to write about them tonight. I’m including the headings, but I’m using the (ESV) instead from   e-sword, an internet company that provides the Scriptures and dictionaries and concordances and other benefits for a serious study of God’s Word.

These are the last words of Jesus to his disciples in a private session before He gets betrayed by Judas Iscariot. The title of John 17:1-5 is “Jesus Prays for Himself.”

Joh 17:1  When Jesus had spoken these words, he lifted up his eyes to heaven, and said, “Father, the hour has come; glorify your Son that the Son may glorify you,

Joh 17:2  since you have given him authority over all flesh, to give eternal life to all whom you have given him.

Joh 17:3  And this is eternal life, that they know you the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent.

Joh 17:4  I glorified you on earth, having accomplished the work that you gave me to do.

Joh 17:5  And now, Father, glorify me in your own presence with the glory that I had with you before the world existed.

The second section is entitled, “Jesus Prays for His Disciples.”

Joh 17:6  “I have manifested your name to the people whom you gave me out of the world. Yours they were, and you gave them to me, and they have kept your word.

Joh 17:7  Now they know that everything that you have given me is from you.

Joh 17:8  For I have given them the words that you gave me, and they have received them and have come to know in truth that I came from you; and they have believed that you sent me.

Joh 17:9  I am praying for them. I am not praying for the world but for those whom you have given me, for they are yours.

Joh 17:10  All mine are yours, and yours are mine, and I am glorified in them.

Joh 17:11  And I am no longer in the world, but they are in the world, and I am coming to you. Holy Father, keep them in your name, which you have given me, that they may be one, even as we are one.

Joh 17:12  While I was with them, I kept them in your name, which you have given me. I have guarded them, and not one of them has been lost except the son of destruction, that the Scripture might be fulfilled.

Joh 17:13  But now I am coming to you, and these things I speak in the world, that they may have my joy fulfilled in themselves.

Joh 17:14  I have given them your word, and the world has hated them because they are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.

Joh 17:15  I do not ask that you take them out of the world, but that you keep them from the evil one.

Joh 17:16  They are not of the world, just as I am not of the world.

Joh 17:17  Sanctify them in the truth; your word is truth.

Joh 17:18  As you sent me into the world, so I have sent them into the world.

Joh 17:19  And for their sake I consecrate myself, that they also may be sanctified in truth.

The third title is “Jesus Prays for All Believers.”

Joh 17:20  “I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word,

Joh 17:21  that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me.

Joh 17:22  The glory that you have given me I have given to them, that they may be one even as we are one,

Joh 17:23  I in them and you in me, that they may become perfectly one, so that the world may know that you sent me and loved them even as you loved me.

Joh 17:24  Father, I desire that they also, whom you have given me, may be with me where I am, to see my glory that you have given me because you loved me before the foundation of the world.

Joh 17:25  O righteous Father, even though the world does not know you, I know you, and these know that you have sent me.

Joh 17:26  I made known to them your name, and I will continue to make it known, that the love with which you have loved me may be in them, and I in them.”

To me, there is such meat in these verses. I’m always excited to see what I consider proofs that Jesus is God the Son; not Jesus, a child of God like we are.

Joh 17:3  And this is eternal life, that they know you the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent.

Joh 17:4  I glorified you on earth, having accomplished the work that you gave me to do.

Joh 17:5  And now, Father, glorify me in your own presence with the glory that I had with you before the world existed.

Jesus says here that He was with the Father and was glorified with God before the world existed. I don’t know how much clearer He could make it. That is why in the Gospels we can read that Jesus received praise – which infuriated the Pharisees and they called Him a blasphemer for receiving praise. Only God deserved to receive praise. Jesus knew that and they knew that. They chose to not believe that Jesus was the Son of God, the Messiah.

Mat 21:13  He said to them, “It is written, ‘My house shall be called a house of prayer,’ but you make it a den of robbers.”

Mat 21:14  And the blind and the lame came to him in the temple, and he healed them.

Mat 21:15  But when the chief priests and the scribes saw the wonderful things that he did, and the children crying out in the temple, “Hosanna to the Son of David!” they were indignant,

Mat 21:16  and they said to him, “Do you hear what these are saying?” And Jesus said to them, “Yes; have you never read, “‘Out of the mouth of infants and nursing babies you have prepared praise’?”

What do you think?

May God bless you!

 

Leave a Reply

