Writing

Writing comes easily to me at times and other times I’ll put words on the page and consider them drivel. The problem is that I don’t always know what is a waste of time for me and for the reader and what is not. In the book of Proverbs, Wisdom tells us to seek her. She is more valuable than silver and gold. I believe that. King Solomon wrote this advice to his sons: Proverbs 3:13, (ESV)  Blessed is the one who finds wisdom, and the one who gets understanding,

Pro 3:14  for the gain from her is better than gain from silver and her profit better than gold.

Pro 3:15  She is more precious than jewels, and nothing you desire can compare with her.

Pro 3:16  Long life is in her right hand; in her left hand are riches and honor.

Pro 3:17  Her ways are ways of pleasantness, and all her paths are peace.

Pro 3:18  She is a tree of life to those who lay hold of her; those who hold her fast are called blessed.

Pro 3:19  The LORD by wisdom founded the earth; by understanding he established the heavens;

Pro 3:20  by his knowledge the deeps broke open, and the clouds drop down the dew.

Pro 3:21  My son, do not lose sight of these— keep sound wisdom and discretion,

Pro 3:22  and they will be life for your soul and adornment for your neck.

Pro 3:23  Then you will walk on your way securely, and your foot will not stumble.

Pro 3:24  If you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet.

I remember years ago in college I needed to write a paper for a political science class and I couldn’t seem to get to it in a timely manner. So, the night before it was due, I began. At three a.m., I had reached the word limit allowed and it flowed according to the assignment’s structure. Answer these questions and give your proofs. I did that. Exhaustion prevailed, I read it and told my boyfriend the next morning on the way to class that the paper stunk and I was going to throw it away.

He said, “What?”

I was serious and he couldn’t believe I’d throw it away moments before the final deadline.

“Let me read it quick.”

“Okay, but it’s garbage.”

He scanned it before we went our separate ways. “Hand it in.”

“Are you serious?”

“Hand it in, it’s due, it’s done, hand it in.”

I shook my head in disbelief and handed it in. I got an A-.

That’s why I like people to read my manuscripts before I submit them to an editor or to a client.

That’s why I like to read the Bible and pray. I may be ready to enter a meeting, ready to state my opinion loudly and clearly without an ear to hear someone else’s viewpoint. If I pray, “Lord, give me wisdom, give me clarity of thought and guard my lips before I speak,” I’m apt to go in with a kinder attitude. I’m likely to listen with the intent to understand the other person as Stephen Covey advocates in his book, Seven Habits of Highly Effective People, copyrighted in 1989, published by Fireside, New York, NY. Then when I give my viewpoint, I’m hoping they’ll understand what I’m trying to convey. Which Mr. Covey said in his book as well.

Do you like to write? Do you like to listen?

May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

