The Presence of God More or Less

My husband and I are watching “Iron Chef” on YouTube tonight. It makes me want to expand my recipes and to try them soon. 🙂

We tried a new restaurant half an hour from home today in order to meet my brother and sister-in-law out on a day trip.

We met at a stone-oven pizza place, but my husband and I ended up ordering submarine sandwiches. They shared a Maryland crab pizza which looked tasty. They liked it. What a nice surprise to see loved ones on a glorious day.

As I looked at the blue sky and the bright sunshine I got thinking about the verse that “The heavens declare His righteousness and all the people see His glory,” Psalm 97:6 (KJV).

It’s so easy to get right to work or to turn to entertainment or to relationships and/or exercise and then put God in the “catch you later” time frame. I found this to be especially true when I worked outside of the home. Day after day I thought, I’ll have my devotional time tomorrow.

As with all relationships, a lack of time together and interaction lessens the connection between those involved.

So I try to spend time with God daily and keep Him in mind and pray as I go about my day.

I didn’t do so well with it today. I don’t feel like I have to, I just sense the necessity of it. Later in the day I went to see the dermatologist and he took four small biopsies. By the fourth one it became very painful and I felt a few tears surface. So the doctor asked the nurses to take me to a separate room to compose myself.

I know God never leaves me alone, but there are times when His Presence is heavy like a warm blanket on a chilly day. Today was not like that, but in the car I sorted out my feelings as my husband listened and that blessed me.

So, tomorrow I will spend quiet time alone with God, pen in hand and notebook nearby to jot down impressions. When I’m in that mode, time flies and there’s such peace I hate to break away, but I usually have a list of duties I’m working on.

That extraordinary peace stays with me for quite a while.

May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

